The best pruning saw cuts live branches cleanly on the pull stroke, has a blade at least twice as long as the limbs you usually cut, and either folds safely or stores in a sheath. Pruning shears and loppers stop at roughly one to two inches; beyond that, a saw is the tool that leaves a clean cut the tree can seal. This guide compares current pruning saw listings in four groups: fixed curved saws for regular yard work, folding saws for the tool bag, a manual pole saw for branches above head height, and battery mini chainsaws for owners with many limbs to clear. Each pick notes blade length, tooth design, stated branch capacity and warranty, and what the listing leaves out, then the buying guide explains blade sizing and the three-cut method that protects the trunk.
Part of our Trees & Shrubs guide →
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 17 current Amazon pruning saw listings, eleven manual saws (folding, fixed-blade, a pole saw and a pruner-and-saw set) and six battery-powered mini chainsaws and saw combos, on what each listing states: blade length and steel, tooth pattern, stated branch capacity, locking or sheath design, weight, and warranty. We did not test or handle the products, and every product detail below comes from the seller’s listing. Availability changes, so confirm blade length and model before ordering.
Quick picks
| Product | Best for | Key features | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Corona RazorTOOTH 13 in | Best overall pruning saw |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Fiskars 10 in folding saw | Best folding saw |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| REXBETI 11 in folding saw | Best value folding saw |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| T.TAOMI 10.5 in pull saw | Best fixed blade with sheath |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| VRYTOR 7 in folding saw | Best compact saw |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| BlumeTrec 14.5 ft pole saw | Best for high branches |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Supstable mini chainsaw | Best battery-powered option |
| Buy now →Check current price |
Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
1. Corona Tools RS 7120 13-Inch RazorTOOTH Pruning Saw — Best overall pruning saw

A 13 in curved pruning saw with SK5 steel and three-sided teeth, rated for limbs up to 7 in, with a lifetime warranty.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Longest hand-saw blade on the shelf, 13 in
- Highest stated capacity, limbs up to 7 in
- Chrome-plated blade reduces friction
- Lifetime warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Blade | 13 in curved, Japanese SK5 high-carbon steel, chrome plated |
| Teeth | Three-sided RazorTOOTH, impulse hardened |
| Branch capacity | Up to 7 in diameter |
| Handle | Pistol grip for one-handed use |
| Weight | About 0.7 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime |
Corona RS 7120 — 13 in curved SK5 blade, 3-sided impulse-hardened teeth, 7 in limbs, pistol grip, lifetime warranty.
The longest hand-saw blade and the highest stated capacity
Among the hand saws on the shelf, blades run from 7 to 13 inches, and the Corona RS 7120 is the longest. That matters because a saw stroke needs room: a common rule is a blade at least twice the diameter of the branch. Its stated capacity of limbs up to 7 inches is the highest of any manual saw listing, matched only by the upper end of the REXBETI 11-inch saw’s 6 to 7-inch claim.
The curve keeps more teeth in the wood on each pull, and the three-sided, impulse-hardened teeth are the kind arborists favor on live wood. A chrome-plated blade helps it slide through sappy cuts without binding. It is one of three manual saw listings on the shelf with a lifetime warranty; the other two are Fiskars products.
The listing does not mention a sheath or scabbard, and a 13-inch fixed blade needs one for safe carrying, so plan to hang it on a hook or buy a holster. Impulse-hardened teeth are generally not resharpened, so expect to replace the saw or blade eventually.
Pros
- 13 in curved blade
- Cuts limbs up to 7 in
- Very light at about 0.7 lb
- Lifetime warranty
Cons
- No sheath mentioned
- Fixed blade is bulky to carry
- Teeth not designed for resharpening
Check Corona RazorTOOTH 13 in price on Amazon
2. Fiskars 10-Inch Folding Pruning Saw with Dual Position Locking Blade — Best folding saw

A 10 in folding saw whose blade locks in two positions for overhand and under cuts, with a lifetime warranty.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Only blade that locks in two cutting positions
- Triple-ground Power Tooth blade
- Folds into the handle for storage
- Lifetime warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Blade | 10 in steel, folding |
| Teeth | Triple-ground Power Tooth |
| Locking | Two positions, for overhand cuts and under cuts |
| Handle | Non-slip grip with hang hole |
| Branch capacity | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | Lifetime limited |
Fiskars 390470-1004 — 10 in folding saw, triple-ground teeth, dual-position lock, lifetime limited warranty.
The only saw whose blade locks at two angles
Every folding saw on the shelf locks open, but the Fiskars is the only one that locks in two positions: one angled for overhand cuts and one for under cuts. That is useful for the three-cut method described in the buying guide below, where the first cut goes in from underneath the branch. Purdue Extension describes this undercut as the step that keeps a heavy limb from tearing bark down the trunk as it falls.
The triple-ground Power Tooth blade is aimed at thicker branches, and the blade folds fully into the handle, so it can ride in a bucket or pocket without a sheath. Among the folding saws, only this saw and the saw in Fiskars’ pruner-and-saw set state a lifetime warranty; the REXBETI saws offer one year and the rest state none.
The listing does not state a maximum branch size or the steel grade, and its 10-inch blade is three inches shorter than the Corona. For limbs over about 5 inches, a longer saw will be quicker.
Pros
- Two locking angles
- Folds safely into handle
- Lifetime warranty
Cons
- Branch capacity not stated
- Steel grade not stated
- Shorter than the Corona
Check Fiskars 10 in folding saw price on Amazon
3. REXBETI 11-Inch Folding Saw — Best value folding saw

An 11 in folding saw with SK-5 steel and 7 TPI staggered teeth for branches up to 6 to 7 in, with a 1-year warranty.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Longest folding blade with a stated capacity
- Branches up to 6 to 7 in
- Reinforced blade to reduce tip stress
- Rubber-coated handle for wet grip
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Blade | 11 in SK-5 steel, reinforced |
| Teeth | 7 TPI, staggered |
| Branch capacity | 6 to 7 in diameter |
| Handle | Rubber-coated polymer |
| Weight | About 0.93 lb |
| Warranty | 1 year |
REXBETI REX025 — 11 in SK-5 folding saw, 7 TPI staggered teeth, 6–7 in branches, about 0.93 lb, 1-year warranty.
A long folding blade with a clear capacity claim
Two 11-inch folding saws appear on the shelf, from REXBETI and Craft911, and REXBETI’s is the one that states how big a branch it handles: 6 to 7 inches. Its 7 TPI staggered teeth are a coarse pattern made for green wood, clearing sawdust quickly so the blade does not clog in sappy cuts. The listing also describes a reinforced blade aimed at reducing stress at the tip, a common failure point on folding saws.
The rubber-coated handle is designed for a firm grip in wet or cold conditions, and at under a pound it is easy to carry all day. REXBETI states a 1-year warranty, the only folding-saw maker besides Fiskars to state any warranty. An 8-inch REXBETI on the same shelf covers 4 to 5-inch branches if you want something smaller.
The listing does not describe the lock mechanism in detail, and coarse 7 TPI teeth leave a rougher face than finer teeth. That is normal for pruning, but finish cuts on ornamental trees benefit from a sharp, clean blade.
Pros
- 6 to 7 in branch capacity
- Reinforced blade
- Grippy handle
- 1-year warranty
Cons
- Lock details not described
- Coarse teeth, rougher face
- Shorter warranty than Fiskars
Check REXBETI 11 in folding saw price on Amazon
4. T.TAOMI 10.5-Inch Japanese Pull Saw — Best fixed blade with sheath

A 10.5 in Japanese-style pull saw with thickened SK5 steel, three-sided teeth and a carry scabbard, about 0.5 lb.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Only saw on the shelf with a scabbard
- Thickened Japanese SK5 steel
- Three-sided ground teeth
- Very light at about 0.5 lb
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Blade | 10.5 in plated, thickened SK5 steel |
| Teeth | Three-sided grinding |
| Storage | Scabbard included |
| Handle | Anti-slip rubber |
| Weight | About 0.5 lb |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
T.TAOMI SJ1 — 10.5 in fixed SK5 pull saw, 3-sided teeth, scabbard, rubber handle, about 0.5 lb.
A fixed blade that comes with its own scabbard
Fixed-blade saws are stiffer at the blade-to-handle joint than folders, which is why arborists use them for repeated heavy cuts, but they need a sheath to carry safely. Of the fixed-blade saws on the shelf, this T.TAOMI is the only one that includes a scabbard, so it can hang on a belt or ladder without exposed teeth.
It follows the Japanese pull-saw pattern: thickened SK5 steel and three-sided ground teeth that cut as you draw the saw toward you. Pulling keeps the blade in tension, so it binds less than a push saw and takes less effort. At about half a pound it is among the lightest hand saws listed.
The listing is short. It does not state tooth count, branch capacity or warranty, and the brand is less established than Corona or Fiskars. Treat it as a light, well-equipped option for regular pruning rather than a heavy limb saw.
Pros
- Scabbard included
- Pull-stroke design
- Very light
Cons
- Branch capacity not stated
- No warranty stated
- Sparse listing details
Check T.TAOMI 10.5 in pull saw price on Amazon
5. VRYTOR 7-Inch Folding Pruning Saw with Hand Guard — Best compact saw

A 7 in folding saw with 65Mn steel, 7 TPI teeth, a lock button and a built-in hand guard, for branches up to 4 in.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Only saw with a built-in hand guard
- Lock button holds the blade open
- No exposed teeth when folded
- Deep tooth gullets clear chips
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Blade | 7 in heat-treated 65Mn steel |
| Teeth | 7 TPI triple-cut, wide and deep gullets |
| Branch capacity | Up to 4 in |
| Safety | Hand guard, lock button |
| Folded length | About 8.8 in |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
VRYTOR 7 in folding saw — 65Mn blade, 7 TPI triple-cut teeth, 4 in branches, hand guard, lock button.
The only saw that guards your knuckles
Short saws work close to the hand, and a slip at the end of a stroke can drive knuckles into bark or the blade. The VRYTOR is the only listing on the shelf with a safety hand guard built into the handle. It also uses a button lock to hold the blade open and folds so that no teeth are exposed.
At 7 inches it is the shortest hand-saw blade on the shelf and is rated for branches up to 4 inches, ideal for shrubs, fruit tree thinning, vines and work inside dense growth where a 13-inch blade has no room. The listing says the wide, deep gullets between teeth clear chips well, so the blade is less prone to clogging. Folded, it is under 9 inches long.
It is the wrong tool for big limbs. The listing does not state a warranty or weight, and 65Mn steel is a different spec from the SK5 steel most of the shelf uses.
Pros
- Built-in hand guard
- Compact folded size
- Locks open firmly
Cons
- 4 in branch limit
- No warranty stated
- Weight not stated
Check VRYTOR 7 in folding saw price on Amazon
6. BlumeTrec 14.5 ft Manual Pole Saw — Best for high branches

A manual pole saw with stainless steel sections that sets up at 8.5, 11 or 14.5 ft, with a Mn steel blade, about 5.2 lb.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Longest reach on the shelf, 14.5 ft
- Three lengths from add-on sections
- Extra screw secures the saw head
- No battery, fuel or charging
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Reach | 8.5 ft (6 sections), 11 ft (8) or 14.5 ft (11) |
| Blade | Mn steel, three-sided edge with barbs |
| Pole | Powder-coated stainless steel sections, not telescoping |
| Weight | About 5.2 lb |
| Pruner head | None, saw only |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
BlumeTrec POS-001-11 — manual pole saw, 8.5/11/14.5 ft, Mn steel blade, sectional steel pole, about 5.2 lb.
Reach high limbs from the ground without a ladder
Cutting from a ladder with a hand saw is one of the riskier jobs in the yard. This BlumeTrec is the only manual pole saw on the shelf, and at 14.5 feet it out-reaches the 9.5-foot telescoping pole of the BuyJoy battery combo. It assembles from sections, so you can use 6 for 8.5 feet, 8 for 11 feet or all 11 for full reach. An extra screw locks the saw head to the pole.
The blade has a three-sided edge with barbs to grip the branch, which helps keep the saw in the kerf when you are cutting overhead. The listing is clear that this is a saw only, with no rope-pull lopper, and that the pole joins in sections rather than telescoping.
At full length, a 5.2-pound pole gets tiring quickly and is hard to control. Never stand under the limb you are cutting, and keep any pole well away from overhead power lines; branches near lines are a job for the utility or a qualified arborist. For more powered options, see our pole saw guide.
Pros
- 14.5 ft maximum reach
- Adjustable by section
- No battery to charge
Cons
- No lopper head
- Tiring at full length
- No warranty stated
Check BlumeTrec 14.5 ft pole saw price on Amazon
7. Supstable BL-168 Mini Chainsaw, 8 and 6 Inch — Best battery-powered option

A 1000 W brushless mini chainsaw with 6 and 8 in bars, two batteries, auto oiler, gloves and a 2-year warranty.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Brushless motor plus two bar lengths
- Two batteries, up to 60 minutes total
- Automatic chain oiler
- 2-year manufacturer warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W brushless |
| Guide bars | 6 in and 8 in, interchangeable |
| Battery | Two 2,000 mAh packs, up to 60 min combined |
| Weight | About 3.2 lb |
| Safety | Safety lock, debris baffle, auxiliary handle, gloves |
| Warranty | 2 years |
Supstable BL-168 — 1000 W brushless mini chainsaw, 6 + 8 in bars, 2 x 2,000 mAh, auto oiler, 2-year warranty.
The only mini chainsaw with both a brushless motor and two bar lengths
Six listings on the shelf are battery saws, and they suit owners with a lot of branches to clear after storms or a big pruning season. The Supstable is the only one that pairs a brushless motor with two interchangeable bars, a 6-inch for light trimming and an 8-inch for thicker wood. The Run Jee offers two bars but does not describe a brushless motor; the BuyJoy combo is brushless but has a single 6-inch bar.
It comes with two batteries for a stated 60 minutes of combined running, an automatic oiler with a 30 ml tank, a safety lock, a debris baffle, an auxiliary handle and gloves. Its 2-year warranty is longer than most mini saws on the shelf, though the CEEPUY states a 3-year replacement warranty.
A mini chainsaw is still a chainsaw. Wear eye protection, gloves and closed shoes, keep both hands on the tool, and never cut above shoulder height. OSHA notes that thousands of people are blinded each year by eye injuries that the right eye protection could have prevented. Bar oil is not included, and pruning cuts on valuable trees are cleaner with a hand saw.
Pros
- Brushless motor
- Two bar sizes
- Two batteries included
- 2-year warranty
Cons
- Bar oil not included
- Rougher cut than a hand saw
- More safety risk than a manual saw
Check Supstable mini chainsaw price on Amazon
Free, no-obligation quote · Connect with a local pro
How to choose a pruning saw
The right saw depends on how thick and how high the branches are, and how often you prune. For smaller stems, our hand pruner picks and pruning shears guide cover cuts under about an inch, and the trees and shrubs hub covers when and why to prune.
Folding, fixed or pole
- Folding saws tuck the blade into the handle, so they are the safest to carry. They suit general yard work and the tool bag.
- Fixed-blade saws are stiffer at the joint and take more force, which suits heavy, repeated cutting. They need a sheath or scabbard.
- Pole saws exist for reach. If a branch is above shoulder height, a pole saw from the ground is safer than a hand saw on a ladder.
- Battery mini chainsaws speed up storm cleanup and firewood but leave a rougher cut and add real injury risk.
Blade length and teeth
Match blade length to the limbs you cut most. A blade at least twice the branch diameter lets you finish full strokes. On this shelf, 7 to 8-inch saws are rated for 4 to 5-inch branches, while the 11 and 13-inch saws that state a capacity claim 6 to 7 inches. Teeth per inch (TPI) trade speed for smoothness: about 7 TPI, the figure stated on several saws here, is a coarse, fast pattern for green wood. Three-sided or triple-ground teeth cut on the pull and leave a cleaner face than older push-saw teeth.
Pull-stroke technique
Almost every pruning saw cuts on the pull. Pulling keeps the blade in tension, so it can be thinner and bind less. Let the saw do the work with long, even strokes, ease off on the push, and never twist the blade in the cut. Keep blades clean of sap and dry before storing.
Where and how to cut
Purdue Extension’s tree pruning guide explains that removal cuts should be made just outside the branch collar, the slightly swollen area where branch and trunk tissues meet, and that topping or leaving stubs invites decay. For branches too heavy to hold, it recommends the three-cut method:
- An undercut on the bottom of the branch, 6 to 12 inches out from the union, so falling weight cannot tear bark down the trunk.
- A top cut just outside the undercut to drop the limb.
- A final cut just outside the branch collar to remove the stub.
Our article on pruning vs shearing explains why selective cuts like these are better for shrubs than all-over clipping.
Safety
Wear safety glasses for every overhead cut; sawdust and twigs fall straight into your eyes. Add gloves and a hard hat when working under limbs or with a powered saw. Plan an escape path, never stand under the branch you are cutting, and keep all tools and poles well clear of power lines. A sharp saw is safer than a dull one because you do not have to force it.
When to hire a pro
Limbs thicker than your saw can handle, anything you would need to climb for, branches over a roof or near power lines, and whole-tree removal are jobs for a certified arborist. Our landscaping services directory can connect you with local tree care pros.
Bigger job? Hire a pro.
For large, tall or hazardous work, compare free, no-obligation quotes from vetted local tree pros near you.
Frequently asked questions
What size pruning saw should a homeowner buy?
Match the blade to the branches you cut most. A 10 to 13-inch saw handles limbs up to 5 to 7 inches, which covers most yard pruning. A 7 to 8-inch folder is easier to carry for shrubs and light work.
Are folding or fixed-blade pruning saws better?
Folding saws are safer to carry and store and suit general use. Fixed-blade saws are stiffer and suit heavy, repeated cutting, but need a sheath. Many gardeners keep one of each.
Why do pruning saws cut on the pull stroke?
Pulling keeps the blade in tension, so it can be thinner without buckling. That means less binding, faster cuts and less effort than a push saw.
Is a pole saw or a hand pruning saw the better choice?
Choose a pole saw only for branches above shoulder height. For everything you can reach from the ground, a hand saw is faster and more precise. Never use either near power lines.
How should a large branch be removed?
Use the three-cut method: an undercut 6 to 12 inches from the trunk, a top cut just beyond it to drop the limb, then a final cut just outside the branch collar. This prevents bark tearing down the trunk.