The best pole saw lets you cut a high limb while both feet stay on the ground, and the right one depends on how high and how thick your branches are. A battery pole saw with an 8- or 10-inch bar handles most backyard limbs up to about 14 feet; a manual saw on a fiberglass pole reaches farther, weighs less and needs no charging, at the cost of arm work. This guide compares current Amazon pole saw listings, from cordless chain pole saws and convertible mini chainsaws to manual telescoping saws and pruners, and explains how to read bar length, reach and weight, along with the safety basics that matter more with a pole saw than almost any other yard tool.
In this guide
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 17 current Amazon pole saw listings on what each listing states: power source, bar or blade length, reach, battery and runtime, weight, extras such as pruner heads or hedge trimmers, and warranty. Ten are battery powered and seven are manual; no corded or gas pole saws came up in the searches. We did not test or handle the products, and availability changes, so confirm details on the listing before you buy.
Quick picks
| Product | Best for | Key features | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| EGO PS1001 Pole Saw | Best overall |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Pole Saw Kit | Best value kit with warranty |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Greenworks 40V 8-inch | Best for Greenworks owners |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Greenworks Pole Saw and Hedge Kit | Best for trees and tall hedges |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| SEESII P6 Ace 2-in-1 | Best convertible mini chainsaw |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Fiskars XtendControl Set | Best manual saw and pruner |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Karveden 20 ft Manual Saw | Best manual reach |
| Buy now →Check current price |
Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Free, no-obligation quote · Connect with a local pro
The best pole saws, compared
1. EGO Power+ PS1001 Pole Saw — Best overall

A brushless 56V pole saw with a 10-inch bar, telescoping carbon fiber shaft, LED cut-line light and 2.5Ah battery kit.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- 10-inch bar, the longest on a powered saw here
- Telescoping carbon fiber shaft, 13 ft reach
- LED light marks the cut line in shade
- Brushless motor, tool-free chain tensioning
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Bar and chain | 10 inches; 1/4-inch pitch, 0.043-inch gauge |
| Power | 56V brushless, 2.5Ah battery and charger |
| Runtime | Up to 100 cuts per charge |
| Reach | Up to 13 ft; 17 ft with optional extension |
| Weight | 9.37 lb listed |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime on the shaft; tool term not stated |
EGO PS1001 — 10-inch bar, 56V brushless, 2.5Ah kit, carbon fiber telescoping shaft, 13 ft reach, LED cut line.
The longest bar and the only carbon fiber shaft on the shelf
Most powered pole saws on the shelf use 6- or 8-inch bars. The EGO’s 10-inch bar is the longest, which lets it take larger limbs in one pass instead of cutting from both sides. A brushless motor drives the chain at up to 20 meters per second, and tool-free tensioning makes on-the-spot chain adjustments easy.
It is also the only listing with a carbon fiber shaft, which EGO covers with a limited lifetime warranty. Carbon fiber is stiff for its weight, which helps limit wobble at full extension. Like any pole saw, it must never be used near power lines. The shaft telescopes for up to 13 feet of reach, or 17 feet with EGO’s extension pole. The LED cut-line indicator, which EGO says is a first for pole saws, helps in a dense, shaded canopy.
The trade-offs: the included 2.5Ah battery is rated for about 100 cuts, a third of the CRAFTSMAN’s 325, so a big pruning day may need a larger EGO battery. At 9.37 pounds it is one of the heavier pole saws listed. The listing states the shaft warranty but not the term on the motor and head.
Pros
- Longest powered bar
- Stiff carbon fiber telescoping shaft
- LED cut line and brushless motor
Cons
- Small battery, about 100 cuts
- Heavy at full extension
- Tool warranty term not stated
Check EGO PS1001 Pole Saw price on Amazon
2. CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Pole Saw Kit (CMCCSP20M1) — Best value kit with warranty

A V20 cordless pole saw with an 8-inch bar, up to 14 ft of reach and a 4.0Ah battery rated for up to 325 cuts.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- 4.0Ah battery rated for up to 325 cuts
- Up to 14 ft reach with the extension
- Angled head and branch hook
- 3-year limited warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Bar | 8 inches |
| Power | 20V, 4.0Ah battery and charger |
| Runtime | Up to 325 cuts per charge |
| Reach | Up to 14 ft |
| Weight | About 6 lb listed |
| Warranty | 3-year limited |
CRAFTSMAN CMCCSP20M1 — 8-inch bar, V20 4.0Ah, up to 325 cuts, 14 ft reach, branch hook, 3-year warranty.
The most cuts per charge from a major-brand kit
Among the powered pole saws that give a cut count, the CRAFTSMAN’s 325 cuts per charge is the highest, about three times the EGO’s rating, thanks to a 4.0Ah battery in the kit. That makes it the practical choice for a long day of limbing several trees. An angled head helps reach awkward branches, and a branch hook lets you pull hung-up cuttings down without climbing.
Its 3-year limited warranty, matched only by the Greenworks combo kit, is the longest powered-tool warranty on the shelf, and CRAFTSMAN lists replacement chain and bar part numbers, which makes long-term upkeep simple. The 14-foot reach is a touch more than the EGO’s standard 13. The same saw is also sold as a bare tool (CMCCSP20B) for anyone already on the V20 platform.
The 8-inch bar is shorter than the EGO’s, so branches near its capacity may need cuts from two sides. The listing’s weight field shows about 6 pounds, which may not include the battery and pole. It also does not mention brushless construction or automatic oiling, so check the manual for chain oil instructions before the first cut.
Pros
- Most stated cuts per charge
- 3-year warranty
- Branch hook and angled head
Cons
- 8-inch bar
- Brushless and oiling not stated
- Weight figure unclear
Check CRAFTSMAN V20 Pole Saw Kit price on Amazon
3. Greenworks 40V 8-inch Pole Saw (PS40B210) — Best for Greenworks owners

A 40V pole saw with an 8-inch bar, automatic oiler, 3-piece aluminum shaft to 11 ft of reach and a 2.0Ah battery.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Automatic oiler keeps the chain lubricated
- Easy-adjust chain tensioning
- 3-piece shaft breaks down for storage
- Runs on the widely used Greenworks 40V battery
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Bar | 8 inches |
| Power | 40V, 2.0Ah battery and charger |
| Shaft | 3-piece aluminum, extends to 9 ft |
| Reach | Up to 11 ft |
| Weight | 7.8 lb listed |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
Greenworks PS40B210 — 8-inch bar, 40V 2.0Ah kit, auto oiler, 3-piece aluminum shaft, 11 ft reach, 7.8 lb.
A simple sectional pole saw on a common battery platform
Two Greenworks 40V listings are on the shelf: this standalone pole saw and a combo kit that adds a pole hedge trimmer. The standalone saw is the straightforward choice for homeowners who already own a Greenworks 40V mower, trimmer or blower, since the battery swaps across. It brings the essentials: an 8-inch bar, automatic oiler, easy chain tensioning, and a 3-piece aluminum shaft.
A sectional shaft rather than a telescoping one means you choose a length by adding or removing pieces. That is slower to change mid-job but locks up firmly and breaks down short for storage. Maximum reach is about 11 feet, a few feet less than the EGO and CRAFTSMAN, which is enough for lower limbs on most yard trees and ornamental trees.
The included 2.0Ah battery is small and the listing gives no cut count or warranty, so plan on a larger 40V battery for more than light pruning. Aluminum conducts electricity, so keep well clear of any overhead lines.
Pros
- Automatic oiler
- Shares Greenworks 40V batteries
- Firm sectional shaft
Cons
- Shorter 11 ft reach
- Small 2.0Ah battery
- Warranty not stated
Check Greenworks 40V 8-inch price on Amazon
4. Greenworks 40V Pole Saw and Pole Hedge Trimmer Kit (PSPH40B210) — Best for trees and tall hedges

A 40V combo with an 8-inch pole saw head and a 20-inch dual-action pole hedge trimmer with 7-position pivoting head.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Two heads: 8-inch saw and 20-inch hedge blade
- Hedge head pivots to 7 positions
- Automatic chain oiler
- 3-year warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Heads | 8-inch bar and chain; 20-inch dual-action hedge blade |
| Hedge head | 7-position pivot |
| Power | 40V, 2.0Ah battery and charger |
| Oiling / tension | Automatic oiler; easy-adjust tensioning |
| Weight | 11 lb listed for the kit |
| Warranty | 3 years |
Greenworks PSPH40B210 — 40V combo, 8-inch pole saw plus 20-inch pivoting pole hedge trimmer, 2.0Ah, 3-year warranty.
The only listing that pairs a pole saw with a hedge trimmer
Five of the powered listings convert between a pole saw and a handheld mini chainsaw, but this Greenworks kit is the only one that adds a pole hedge trimmer. If your yard has a tall privet, laurel or arborvitae hedge as well as trees to limb up, one power head with two attachments covers both jobs. The 20-inch dual-action hedge blade pivots to seven positions, so you can cut the top of a hedge flat from the ground.
The saw head matches the standalone Greenworks: 8-inch bar, automatic oiler and easy tensioning. The kit carries a 3-year warranty, tied with CRAFTSMAN for the longest on a powered pole saw here.
With a 2.0Ah battery shared across two tools, runtime is the weak point; a second or larger battery is worth adding. The listing’s 11-pound weight is for the whole kit. For hedges only, a dedicated hedge trimmer is lighter; see our hedge trimmer guide.
Pros
- Saw and hedge trimmer in one kit
- Pivoting hedge head
- 3-year warranty
Cons
- Small battery for two tools
- Reach not stated
- More to store
Check Greenworks Pole Saw and Hedge Kit price on Amazon
5. SEESII P6 Ace 2-in-1 Brushless Pole Saw — Best convertible mini chainsaw

A brushless 6-inch mini chainsaw that mounts on a 4.6 to 9 ft extension pole, with two 4.0Ah batteries and charger.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Works as a 3.4 lb handheld saw or a 6.9 lb pole saw
- Brushless motor
- Two 4.0Ah batteries, up to 200 cuts listed
- Tool-free oil refill and chain change
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Bar | 6 inches |
| Power | 20V brushless, two 4.0Ah batteries, fast charger |
| Runtime | Up to 120 minutes and 200 cuts listed |
| Pole | 4.6 to 9 ft; about 15.5 to 16 ft reach with user height |
| Weight | 3.4 lb handheld; 6.9 lb as a pole saw |
| Safety | Safety switch and guard baffles |
SEESII P6 Ace — 6-inch brushless mini chainsaw plus 4.6-9 ft pole, 2 x 4.0Ah, 6.9 lb assembled.
A brushless convertible with two 4.0Ah batteries
Five listings on the shelf are mini chainsaws that mount on an extension pole: two from Supstable, two from SEESII and one from UCCOSSO. They appeal because one tool cuts both overhead limbs and storm debris on the ground. The SEESII P6 Ace is our pick: it states a brushless motor, two 4.0Ah batteries, and a modest assembled weight of 6.9 pounds, with the saw alone at 3.4 pounds.
The listing claims up to 120 minutes and 200 cuts across both batteries, and it includes tool-free oil refilling and chain replacement, a safety switch and guard baffles. The pole extends from 4.6 to 9 feet; SEESII’s quoted 15.5- to 16-foot reach includes the user’s own height, so compare it carefully with the EGO and CRAFTSMAN figures.
The 6-inch bar is the smallest on the shelf, best for branches a few inches thick, and the listing gives no warranty term. The Supstable S5 Sky kit is an alternative with both 6- and 8-inch bars, automatic oiling and a stated 2-year warranty, at a listed 10 pounds. A mini chainsaw used handheld is still a chainsaw; wear eye and leg protection and keep two hands on it.
Pros
- Light as a pole saw
- Brushless with two batteries
- Doubles as a handheld saw
Cons
- Small 6-inch bar
- Reach figure includes user height
- Warranty not stated
Check SEESII P6 Ace 2-in-1 price on Amazon
6. Fiskars 4-16 ft XtendControl Pole Saw and Pruner Set — Best manual saw and pruner

A modular manual set: 15-inch X3 saw, rotating 1.25-inch pruner head with cord reel and two 4 to 8 ft aluminum poles.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Saw and rope pruner in one modular kit
- Reaches from 4 to 16 feet
- Pruner head rotates up to 45 degrees
- Cord reel keeps the pull rope tidy
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Saw | 15-inch X3 double-hooked, triple-grind teeth |
| Pruner | Rotating head, cuts up to 1.25 inches |
| Poles | Two 4 to 8 ft aluminum poles; 16 ft max |
| Locking | Double-locking snap-fit with secondary lock |
| Configurations | 5 |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
Fiskars 392490 XtendControl — 15-inch saw, 1.25-inch rotating pruner, two 4-8 ft poles, 4-16 ft reach.
The most configurable manual set on the shelf
Seven listings are manual pole saws. The Fiskars set stands out for its modular design: a 15-inch saw head, a separate rotating pruner head, and two telescoping poles that combine into five configurations from 4 to 16 feet. That covers everything from a low ornamental tree to the lower canopy of a shade tree without a motor, battery or chain oil.
The pruner head cuts branches up to 1.25 inches with a pull cord and pivots up to 45 degrees so the blade meets the branch square. The listing says the attached cord reel keeps the rope taut and close to hand, avoiding the loose loops that tangle in branches, and that the metal locking points withstand 500 pounds of pull. The X3 saw uses aggressive triple-ground teeth with hooks at both ends to pull and push branches.
Manual cutting is slower and harder overhead than a powered chain, especially on limbs over 3 or 4 inches. The poles are aluminum, which conducts electricity. Fiskars gives no warranty term in this listing.
Pros
- Saw and pruner heads
- Five configurations to 16 ft
- No battery or fuel
Cons
- Slower on thick limbs
- Aluminum poles conduct electricity
- Warranty not stated
Check Fiskars XtendControl Set price on Amazon
7. Karveden 5-20 ft Telescoping Manual Pole Saw — Best manual reach

A manual pole saw with a 5 to 20 ft telescoping pole, flip-tab locks and a detachable 19-inch carbon steel blade.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Telescopes from 5 to 20 feet with flip-tab locks
- 19-inch carbon steel blade, non-stick coated
- Saw detaches for handheld use
- Standard threaded pole fits other tools
- 1-year warranty
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Blade | 19-inch, 3X-sharpened carbon steel, non-stick |
| Pole | 4-stage telescoping, 5 to 20 ft |
| Reach | About 26 ft including user height |
| Grip | Two foam anti-slip grips |
| Thread | Standard 3/4-inch universal |
| Warranty | Up to 1 year |
Karveden pole saw — 19-inch carbon steel blade, 5-20 ft telescoping pole, flip-tab locks, 1-year warranty.
A long telescoping pole without a pile of sections
Four manual listings reach 20 feet or more on the pole. LETYANGER and Likeem both list 27 feet; LETYANGER builds that from seven screw-together poles and candidly notes that its 27-foot setting is heavy and hard to control. The Karveden and the near-identical TONYINGO instead use a four-stage telescoping pole with flip-tab locks, which adjusts in seconds to any length from 5 to 20 feet. The Karveden gets the nod for its longer 19-inch blade, against 17 inches on the TONYINGO, and a stated 1-year warranty.
The 3X-sharpened carbon steel blade has a non-stick coating, and an extra reinforcement keeps the saw head tight to the pole. The saw detaches for handheld use on low branches, and the pole’s standard 3/4-inch thread accepts paint rollers and other attachments.
There is no pruner head, so small twigs are slower to clear, and long manual poles get heavy and whippy at full length. The listing does not state the pole material or weight. Cutting a heavy limb 20 feet up is also where falling-branch risk rises fast; that is often a job for a tree service.
Pros
- Quick telescoping to 20 ft
- Long 19-inch blade
- 1-year warranty
Cons
- No pruner head
- Pole material and weight not stated
- Tiring at full extension
Check Karveden 20 ft Manual Saw price on Amazon
Free, no-obligation quote · Connect with a local pro
How to choose a pole saw
Battery or manual
Battery pole saws cut faster and with far less effort, making them worth it for yards with several trees or regular storm cleanup. Check bar length, battery size and whether you already own batteries from the same brand. Manual pole saws are lighter at the head, silent, need no charging or chain oil, and reach farther, which makes them a good fit for occasional pruning of smaller limbs. Our pruning saw guide covers handheld saws for lower branches.
Reach, and how listings measure it
Some listings quote pole length, others quote total reach including the user’s height and arm. Greenworks lists 11 feet of maximum reach from its 9-foot shaft, for example, while SEESII counts the user’s height to reach 15.5 to 16 feet from a 9-foot pole. Do not plan to cut directly overhead: stand to one side at an angle so the limb falls away from you. Longer is not always better, because a long pole is heavier and harder to control at the tip.
Bar length and branch size
Powered pole saws on the shelf use 6- to 10-inch bars. A bar can technically cut a branch nearly its own length, but cuts are easier and safer on limbs well under that size. For branches over about 1.5 inches, Clemson Extension recommends the three-cut method: an undercut about 15 inches from the trunk, a top cut a little farther out to drop the limb, then a final cut just outside the branch collar. That prevents the falling limb from tearing bark down the trunk. Avoid flush cuts against the trunk, which open a larger wound.
Weight and balance
The listed powered saws weigh roughly 6 to 10 pounds, but the motor sits at the far end of the pole, so it feels heavier the farther you extend. A shoulder strap, where included, helps carry the load. If you have limited upper-body strength, prefer a lighter convertible saw or a manual pole with a short working length.
Pole saw safety
Stay away from power lines. OSHA calls contact with electricity one of the leading causes of death for tree care workers and describes a landscaper killed when his pole saw touched an overhead line. OSHA’s guidance is to keep at least 10 feet from overhead lines, and to watch for indirect contact through a branch or tool. Clemson Extension specifically warns against aluminum-handled pole pruners near power lines. If a limb is anywhere near a line, call the utility or a line-clearance arborist.
Wear the right gear. OSHA’s chainsaw guidance calls for hand, foot, leg, eye, face, hearing and head protection, and to watch for branches under tension that can spring out when cut. With a pole saw, sawdust and debris fall toward your face, so safety glasses and a hard hat are the minimum; OSHA notes that thousands of eye injuries a year could be prevented with proper eye protection.
Work from the ground. Never use a pole saw from a ladder. Clear the drop zone of people, pets and cars, plan an escape path, keep a firm two-handed grip, and avoid cutting with the tip of a powered bar, which OSHA warns can cause kickback. Remove the battery before adjusting or clearing the chain, and keep the chain sharp and oiled.
When to hire an arborist
Large limbs, anything over about 15 to 20 feet, branches over structures, and any work near power lines belong to a certified arborist with insurance. Our trees and shrubs guide covers seasonal pruning, our electric chainsaw guide covers ground-level cutting, and you can request quotes from local tree crews through our services directory.
Bigger job? Hire a pro.
For large, tall or hazardous work, compare free, no-obligation quotes from vetted local tree pros near you.
Frequently asked questions
How high can a pole saw reach?
Powered pole saws on our shelf list about 10 to 16 feet of reach, and some of those figures include the user’s height; the EGO reaches 17 feet with an optional extension. Manual poles go farther, with telescoping models reaching 20 feet of pole. Check whether a listing quotes pole length or total reach including your height.
How thick a branch can a pole saw cut?
That depends on bar or blade length and your patience. A 6-inch bar suits branches a few inches thick; an 8- or 10-inch bar handles larger limbs. Use the three-cut method for anything over about 1.5 inches to avoid bark tearing.
Are battery pole saws worth it over manual?
If you prune several trees a year or clean up storm damage, yes. Battery saws cut much faster with less effort. For a few small branches once a season, a manual pole saw is lighter, cheaper to maintain and reaches higher.
Can a pole saw be used near power lines?
No. OSHA advises staying at least 10 feet from overhead lines and warns that a tool or branch touching a line can electrocute the user. Call the utility company or a line-clearance arborist for any branch near a line.
Do battery pole saws need chain oil?
Yes. Many models, including the Greenworks pole saws, have automatic oilers that feed oil from a small tank; some mini chainsaws use a manual oil bulb. Check the level before each use and keep the chain sharp, as OSHA’s chainsaw guidance recommends.
References
- Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Electricity and Tree Care Work: A Deadly Combination (OSHA 3861)
- Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Chainsaw Safety QuickCard
- Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Eye and Face Protection
- Clemson Cooperative Extension, Home and Garden Information Center, Principles and Practices for Pruning Trees