Tools & Gear

Best Electric Chainsaws (2026): Cordless & Corded

The best electric chainsaw is the one sized to the wood you actually cut and powered the way your yard works. If your cutting happens within an extension cord’s reach of an outlet, a 15-amp corded saw with a 16- or 18-inch bar gives unlimited runtime and plenty of power for storm limbs and firewood. If you need to walk the property, a 40V cordless saw with a 16-inch bar does similar work without a cord. For pruning, a 6- or 8-inch mini saw is lighter and easier to control. This guide sorts current Amazon electric chainsaw listings into those jobs, from a self-sharpening Oregon to a DeWalt-battery mini saw and a 16-foot pole saw, and covers the safety gear and habits every chainsaw user needs, corded or cordless.

In this guide
  1. Quick picks
  2. The best electric chainsaws, compared
  3. How to choose an electric chainsaw
  4. Frequently asked questions
  5. References

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 18 current Amazon electric chainsaw listings (five corded saws and 13 battery saws, most of them mini or pole saws) on what each listing states: power source, bar length, motor or battery spec, chain brake and kickback features, chain tensioning, oiling, weight and warranty. We did not test or handle the products, and availability changes, so confirm details on the listing before you buy.

Quick picks

ProductBest forKey featuresBuy
Oregon CS1500 18-inchBest overall corded saw
  • 15-amp motor, 18-inch bar
  • Built-in PowerSharp chain sharpener
  • Chain brake and 2-year warranty
Buy now →Check current price
SEESII M16 Ace 40V 16-inchBest cordless full-size saw
  • 40V brushless, 16-inch bar
  • Two 4.0Ah batteries included
  • Chain brake, tool-free tensioning
Buy now →Check current price
CRAFTSMAN CMECS600 16-inchBest light corded saw
  • 12-amp motor, 16-inch bar
  • Low-kickback bar and chain
  • 3-year limited warranty
Buy now →Check current price
WEN CP1518 18-inchBest value 18-inch corded
  • 15-amp motor, 18-inch chain
  • Kickback brake listed
  • Cable strain relief notch
Buy now →Check current price
DOOYUTOOL 10-inch (DeWalt 20V)Best for DeWalt battery owners
  • Runs on DeWalt 20V MAX packs
  • Brushless motor, 10-inch bar
  • 4.0Ah battery and charger included
Buy now →Check current price
SEESII M8 Boost mini sawBest mini saw for pruning
  • 8-inch bar, brushless motor
  • Two 4000mAh batteries
  • Gloves and goggles included
Buy now →Check current price
Supstable APR600 pole sawBest for high branches
  • Reaches up to 16 feet
  • Two 4.0Ah batteries
  • Works handheld or on the pole
Buy now →Check current price

Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Call (833) 370-2010

Free, no-obligation quote · Connect with a local pro

The best electric chainsaws, compared

1. Oregon CS1500 (15-amp, 18-inch) — Best overall corded saw

Best overallOregon CS1500 18-inch

A 15-amp corded saw with an 18-inch bar, built-in PowerSharp sharpening, chain brake and tool-free tensioning.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Only saw on the shelf that sharpens its own chain
  • Chain brake named in the listing
  • 18-inch bar, tied for longest in the comparison
  • Tool-free tensioning and automatic oiling
  • UL certified, two-year Oregon warranty
SpecificationDetails
PowerCorded electric, 15 amps
Bar length18 inches
ChainPowerSharp self-sharpening chain; sharpens in 3 to 5 seconds, per the listing
SafetyChain brake; low-kickback design named in the title
Weight12.6 lb listed
Warranty2 years

Oregon CS1500 — 15A corded, 18-inch bar, PowerSharp self-sharpening, chain brake, auto oiler, 2-year warranty.

The only self-sharpening chain in the comparison

A dull chain is the most common reason a homeowner’s saw cuts slowly, smokes, or tempts the user to force it, and forcing a saw is how kickback starts. Of the 18 listings we compared, the Oregon CS1500 is the only one with a built-in sharpening system. Oregon says its PowerSharp chain sharpens in 3 to 5 seconds on the saw, so you can touch up the chain mid-job instead of stopping to file it or take it to a shop. Replacement PowerSharp chains and sharpening stones are specific to this system, so factor that into running costs.

It is also one of only four listings that name a chain brake or kickback brake (the others are the SEESII 40V, the WEN CP1518 and a generic mini saw). Its 18-inch bar ties the WEN and BLACK+DECKER corded saws for the longest on the shelf, which gives some headroom for firewood rounds and storm-felled trunks. Like the other corded saws, it starts instantly with no fuel, pull cord or battery to charge.

The trade-offs are the cord and the weight. At 12.6 pounds it is one of the heavier saws here, and you need a heavy-gauge outdoor extension cord to run a 15-amp motor at full power. If most of your cutting is far from an outlet, a cordless saw is the better fit.

Pros

  • On-board chain sharpening
  • Chain brake and low-kickback design
  • 18-inch bar for bigger rounds
  • Unlimited runtime on a cord

Cons

  • Heavier than most saws here
  • Needs a heavy-gauge outdoor cord
  • Proprietary self-sharpening chains

Check Oregon CS1500 18-inch price on Amazon

2. SEESII M16 Ace 40V (16-inch) — Best cordless full-size saw

Best cordlessSEESII M16 Ace 40V 16-inch

A 40V brushless 16-inch saw sold with two 4.0Ah batteries, a charger, chain brake and tool-free tensioning.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Longest bar among the battery saws at 16 inches
  • Two 40V 4.0Ah batteries and charger included
  • Chain brake, safety lock and overload protection
  • Large 150 ml automatic oil reservoir
  • Goggles and gloves in the box
SpecificationDetails
Power40V battery, brushless motor (listed at 2000W)
Bar length16 inches
RuntimeUp to 90 minutes across both batteries, per the listing
OilingAutomatic, 150 ml reservoir
Weight10.3 lb with battery
Warrantynot stated in listing

SEESII M16 Ace — 40V brushless, 16-inch bar, 2 x 4.0Ah, chain brake, tool-free tensioning, 10.3 lb.

The only battery saw here with a 16-inch bar and a chain brake

Of the 13 battery saws we compared, only four have a bar of 10 inches or more, and this SEESII is the largest at 16 inches. It is also the only full-size cordless saw that lists a chain brake. That combination makes it the one cordless choice on the shelf for firewood rounds and fallen trunks rather than branches. SEESII says it cuts with the efficiency of a 42cc gas saw; that is the seller’s comparison with no stated test method.

The kit is complete: two 40V 4.0Ah batteries, a dual charger, a chain cover, goggles and gloves. The 150 ml oil reservoir is the largest stated on the shelf, which means fewer stops to refill. Tool-free chain tensioning makes it easy to keep the chain snug, which is a safety habit as much as a maintenance one.

The batteries are 40V only and will not fit 20V tools, so this saw does not join a DeWalt, Ryobi or EGO battery family. The listing does not state a warranty term. If you already own a major-brand battery platform, a bare saw from that brand may be the better buy.

Pros

  • Full-size 16-inch cordless cutting
  • Chain brake plus tool-free tensioning
  • Two batteries for longer sessions
  • Protective gear included

Cons

  • Batteries fit only SEESII 40V tools
  • Warranty not stated
  • Gas-equivalence claim is the seller’s own

Check SEESII M16 Ace 40V 16-inch price on Amazon

3. CRAFTSMAN CMECS600 (12-amp, 16-inch) — Best light corded saw

Best light cordedCRAFTSMAN CMECS600 16-inch

A 12-amp corded saw with a 16-inch low-kickback bar and chain, auto oiling, tool-free tensioning and a 3-year warranty.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Longest warranty on the shelf at three years
  • Low-kickback bar and chain
  • Oil window, no priming needed
  • Lightest listed weight among the corded saws
SpecificationDetails
PowerCorded electric, 12 amps
Bar length16 inches
SafetyLow-kickback bar and chain; chain brake not stated in listing
OilingAutomatic, with oil level window
WeightAbout 6.2 lb listed
Warranty3-year limited

CRAFTSMAN CMECS600 — 12A corded, 16-inch low-kickback bar, auto oiler, tool-free tension, 3-year warranty.

The longest warranty in the comparison

Eleven of the 18 listings state a warranty term. Most are one or two years. The CRAFTSMAN is one of two listings with a clear three-year term (a CEEPUY mini saw is the other), while Oregon’s 16-inch corded saw lists two years in one place and three in another. For a saw that may sit in the garage for months between storms, a longer warranty is a practical tiebreaker.

It is the smallest-motor corded saw here at 12 amps (the other four are 15-amp), paired with a 16-inch bar. That is a sensible match for limbing, pruning larger branches and cutting firewood rounds up to about the bar length. Its listed weight of about 6.2 pounds is the lightest among the corded saws, though the listing does not say whether that includes the bar and chain, so expect the assembled saw to feel heavier.

The listing mentions a low-kickback bar and chain but does not name a chain brake. Low-kickback chains reduce the risk; a chain brake is a second line of defense. If a brake is a must-have, the Oregon CS1500 or WEN CP1518 list one.

Pros

  • Three-year limited warranty
  • Light for a corded saw
  • Low-kickback bar and chain
  • Tool-free chain tensioning

Cons

  • Chain brake not stated
  • 12-amp motor is the smallest corded option
  • Weight figure may exclude bar and chain

Check CRAFTSMAN CMECS600 16-inch price on Amazon

4. WEN CP1518 (15-amp, 18-inch) — Best value 18-inch corded saw

Best value cordedWEN CP1518 18-inch

A 15-amp corded saw with an 18-inch chain, kickback brake, tool-free tensioning, auto oiler and a two-year warranty.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • 15-amp motor with an 18-inch chain
  • Kickback brake listed
  • Cable strain relief notch keeps the cord attached
  • Protective sheath and two-year warranty
SpecificationDetails
PowerCorded electric, 15 amps
Bar and chain18 inches
Chain speedUp to 41 feet per second
SafetyKickback brake
Weightnot stated in listing
Warranty2 years

WEN CP1518 — 15A corded, 18-inch chain, 41 ft/s, kickback brake, tool-free tension, 2-year warranty.

One of only two corded saws that pair an 18-inch bar with a brake

Three corded saws on the shelf carry an 18-inch bar: this WEN, the Oregon CS1500 and the BLACK+DECKER CS1518. Only the WEN and the Oregon also list a brake, and the WEN is the more basic of the two, without the Oregon’s self-sharpening system. If you are comfortable filing a chain yourself, the WEN gets you the same bar length, a 15-amp motor and a brake.

The cable strain relief notch is a small detail worth having: it holds the extension cord loop so a tug does not unplug the saw mid-cut. BLACK+DECKER lists a similar cord retainer. WEN also states a chain speed of up to 41 feet per second, the highest figure any listing gives, though chain speed alone does not tell you how a saw handles a cut.

The listing is short, and it does not state a weight. Expect a full-size corded saw in the same range as the Oregon and BLACK+DECKER, which list about 12.5 pounds.

Pros

  • 18-inch bar with a kickback brake
  • Cord strain relief notch
  • Sheath included
  • Two-year warranty

Cons

  • Weight not stated
  • Short listing with few details
  • Tied to an outlet and cord

Check WEN CP1518 18-inch price on Amazon

5. DOOYUTOOL 10-inch Cordless (DeWalt 20V MAX compatible) — Best for DeWalt battery owners

Best for DeWalt ownersDOOYUTOOL 10-inch (DeWalt 20V)

A 10-inch brushless saw that runs on DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, sold with a 4.0Ah battery and charger.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Runs on DeWalt 20V MAX batteries
  • Brushless motor with a 10-inch bar
  • 4.0Ah battery and charger included
  • See-through oil tank and battery gauge
SpecificationDetails
Power20V, DeWalt 20V MAX compatible, brushless (listed at 1000W)
Bar length10 inches
Battery4.0Ah battery and charger included
OilingAutomatic, see-through tank
Weight4 lb listed
Support12 months after-sales service

DOOYUTOOL DW-11 — DeWalt 20V MAX compatible, 10-inch bar, brushless, 4.0Ah included, 4 lb.

The only saw on the shelf built for DeWalt batteries

Two listings state compatibility with a major tool brand’s batteries: this saw with DeWalt 20V MAX packs and the Run Jee mini with Makita batteries. The DOOYUTOOL is the bigger of the two, with a 10-inch bar, a brushless motor and a 4.0Ah battery in the box. If you already own DeWalt drills or drivers, the spare packs in your garage will run this saw too.

A 10-inch bar sits between the 6- and 8-inch mini saws and the 16-inch full-size saws. It handles larger branches and small logs better than a mini, while staying light at a listed 4 pounds. The see-through oil tank and on-board battery gauge are useful touches, since running a chain dry or dying mid-cut are the two most common small-saw frustrations.

This is not a DeWalt product; it is a third-party saw designed to fit DeWalt batteries, so DeWalt’s warranty does not apply. The seller offers 12 months of after-sales service. The listing does not mention a chain brake.

Pros

  • Uses DeWalt 20V MAX batteries
  • 10-inch bar in a 4 lb saw
  • Brushless motor
  • Battery included for non-DeWalt owners

Cons

  • Third-party, not a DeWalt tool
  • Chain brake not stated
  • Only 12 months of support

Check DOOYUTOOL 10-inch (DeWalt 20V) price on Amazon

6. SEESII M8 Boost (8-inch mini saw) — Best mini saw for pruning

Best mini sawSEESII M8 Boost mini saw

An 8-inch brushless mini saw with two 4000mAh batteries, tool-free tensioning, auto oiling, gloves and goggles.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • 8-inch bar handles larger branches than 6-inch minis
  • Brushless motor and two 4000mAh batteries
  • Tool-free chain tensioning
  • Automatic oiling with a see-through tank
  • Gloves and goggles included
SpecificationDetails
PowerBattery, brushless motor (listed at 1000W)
Bar length8 inches
BatteriesTwo 4000mAh packs and charger
OilingAutomatic, semi-transparent tank
In the boxTwo chains, gloves, goggles, maintenance tools
Support2-year after-sales service

SEESII M8 Boost — 8-inch mini saw, brushless, 2 x 4000mAh, tool-free tension, auto oiling, PPE included.

A mini saw with the features usually saved for bigger saws

Ten of the 13 battery saws we compared are mini or pole saws with 4- to 10-inch bars. Four of those describe pressing a bulb or button to oil the chain rather than automatic oiling. The SEESII M8 Boost is one of the few minis that combines a brushless motor, tool-free chain tensioning and true automatic oiling, and it ships with two 4000mAh batteries, double the 2000mAh packs in most mini kits.

An 8-inch bar is a useful step up from 6 inches for pruning fruit trees, clearing overgrown shrubs and cutting up branches after a storm. Mini saws are one-handed tools, which makes them easy to use and also easy to misuse: hold a mini with both hands where a second handle exists, keep the cut below shoulder height and never use one from a ladder. For bigger limbs, see our chainsaws for homeowners guide.

The listing does not mention a chain brake, which is common for mini saws. SEESII offers a two-year after-sales service rather than a formal warranty term.

Pros

  • 8-inch bar with brushless motor
  • Two large batteries
  • Tool-free tensioning and auto oiling
  • Protective gear included

Cons

  • No chain brake stated
  • One-handed saws invite bad habits
  • Not for logs or felling

Check SEESII M8 Boost mini saw price on Amazon

7. Supstable APR600 Pole Saw (6-inch, 16 ft reach) — Best for high branches

Best for high branchesSupstable APR600 pole saw

A 6-inch cordless mini saw that mounts on a telescoping pole for up to 16 feet of reach, with two 4.0Ah batteries.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Only kit on the shelf that includes a pole
  • Works as a handheld mini saw too
  • Two 4.0Ah batteries included
  • Two-year warranty stated
SpecificationDetails
PowerBattery, brushed motor
Bar length6 inches; cuts branches up to about 6 inches
ReachUp to 16 feet with the telescoping pole
BatteriesTwo 4000mAh packs; up to 100 minutes, per the listing
OilingManual oil bulb, 30 ml tank
Warranty2 years

Supstable APR600 — 6-inch saw plus pole to 16 ft, 2 x 4.0Ah, tool-free tension, manual oiler, 2-year warranty.

The only listing that comes with an extension pole

Every other saw on this shelf ships for use at arm’s length; one 6-inch mini mentions an optional pole sold separately. The Supstable APR600 is the only listing that includes a telescoping pole, which lets you prune high branches from the ground instead of climbing a ladder with a running saw. OSHA’s chainsaw guidance warns about branches under tension springing out when cut, and that risk is far easier to manage with both feet on the ground and the cut well above you and to one side.

The saw head comes off the pole and works as a handheld 6-inch mini saw, and the kit includes two 4.0Ah batteries, gloves and goggles. Tool-free chain tensioning keeps adjustments quick.

Two things to know. Oiling is manual: you press a bulb to oil the chain, which is easy to forget when the saw is 15 feet overhead, so build it into your routine before each cut. And the listing gives 3.4 pounds for the saw alone but 10 pounds in its specification fields, which likely includes the pole. A pole saw at full extension feels much heavier than its listed weight. For a deeper comparison, see our pole saw guide.

Pros

  • Up to 16 feet of reach
  • Converts to a handheld mini saw
  • Two large batteries
  • Two-year warranty

Cons

  • Manual oil bulb
  • 6-inch bar limits branch size
  • Heavy at full extension

Check Supstable APR600 pole saw price on Amazon

Call (833) 370-2010

Free, no-obligation quote · Connect with a local pro

How to choose an electric chainsaw

Corded or cordless

Corded saws run as long as you have power and need no batteries, which makes them the cheapest way to get a 16- or 18-inch bar. Their limits are the cord and an outlet; most are best for cutting within 100 feet of the house. Cordless saws go anywhere and start instantly, but runtime depends on battery capacity, and full-size cordless saws are still less common than minis. If you already own a battery platform, a saw that shares those packs is worth a premium.

Bar length

A saw cuts wood up to roughly its bar length in one pass, so match the bar to the largest wood you will realistically cut. Six- and 8-inch minis are pruning tools. Ten- to 14-inch bars handle larger branches and small logs. Sixteen- and 18-inch bars cover firewood rounds and storm-felled trunks. A longer bar is not automatically better; it adds weight and makes the saw harder to control.

Motor, amps and voltage

Corded saws are rated in amps: 12 amps for lighter work, 15 amps for full-size bars. Cordless saws are rated in volts and amp-hours; voltage tracks power, and amp-hours track runtime. Brushless motors are more efficient than brushed ones and are now common even on mini saws.

Safety features worth paying for

Look for a chain brake, a low-kickback bar and chain, a front hand guard and a lock-off switch. A chain brake stops the chain fast if the saw kicks back. Tool-free tensioning makes it more likely you will keep the chain properly snug. Automatic oiling keeps the bar and chain lubricated; check the oil before every session either way.

Chainsaw safety: gear and habits

Electric saws are quieter and simpler than gas saws, but the chain is just as sharp. OSHA’s chainsaw safety quick card calls for hand, foot, leg, eye, face, hearing and head protection, close-fitting clothing, and checking controls, chain tension and handles before starting. It also advises clearing dirt, debris and rocks from the cutting path, keeping both hands on the handles, watching for branches under tension that can spring out, and avoiding kickback by not cutting with the tip of the bar.

For corded saws, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission advises against using electric power tools in wet or damp conditions, using a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) for protection against electrocution, and choosing an extension cord that is in good condition, rated for outdoor use and the proper gauge for the tool. CPSC also advises unplugging electric tools before clearing jams or making adjustments; on a cordless saw, remove the battery. Keep children well away from any running power tool.

Storm cleanup and when to hire a pro

Storm damage is when most homeowners pick up a chainsaw, and it is also the riskiest cutting. North Dakota State University Extension’s forester advises avoiding downed power lines entirely until the utility says it is safe, watching for stems and branches pinned under heavier wood that can spring loose, and wearing a hard hat, gloves, hearing protection, boots and chainsaw chaps. NDSU also says split or rotted stems and large broken branches high off the ground should be left to professionals, and recommends asking a tree company for proof of insurance. If a job involves felling, climbing or anything near wires, get quotes from local tree pros. For general tree care and pruning advice, see our trees and shrubs guide.

Maintenance and batteries

Sharpen the chain when the saw starts making fine dust instead of chips, keep the bar groove clean, and store the saw with the scabbard on. When a lithium-ion battery wears out, the EPA says it should not go in household trash or curbside recycling bins; take it to a battery recycler or household hazardous waste site, and tape the terminals first. For trimming hedges rather than cutting wood, see our hedge trimmer guide.

Bigger job? Hire a pro.

For large, tall or hazardous work, compare free, no-obligation quotes from vetted local tree pros near you.

Loading quote form…

Frequently asked questions

Are electric chainsaws powerful enough to cut down trees?

A 15-amp corded saw or a full-size 40V cordless saw with a 16- or 18-inch bar can fell small trees and cut firewood. Felling anything large, leaning, damaged or near buildings and power lines is a job for a professional, whatever saw you own.

Cordless or corded: which is better?

Choose corded if your cutting stays near an outlet and you want unlimited runtime and a lower cost per inch of bar. Choose cordless if you need to move around a large property or already own a compatible battery platform.

What size chainsaw is right for a homeowner?

Match the bar to your wood. A 6- or 8-inch mini saw is for pruning, 10 to 14 inches covers larger branches and small logs, and 16 to 18 inches suits firewood and storm cleanup. Buy the shortest bar that handles your biggest regular cut.

Do electric chainsaws need bar and chain oil?

Yes. Electric saws need bar and chain oil just like gas saws. Most full-size saws oil automatically from a reservoir; some mini and pole saws use a manual bulb you press. Check the oil before each session and never run the chain dry.

How often should the chain be sharpened?

Sharpen when the saw produces fine sawdust instead of chips, pulls to one side, or needs to be pushed through the cut. A sharp chain is faster and safer. Self-sharpening systems such as Oregon’s PowerSharp let you touch up the chain on the saw.

References

Written by

The Urban Lotus Project editorial team researches and writes our gardening, lawn, pond and landscaping guides from university extension services, USDA data, product labels and manufacturer specifications, and updates them as advice and products change.

WhatsApp Call (833) 370-2010 · Free quote