Tools & Gear

7 Best Indoor Herb Garden Kits (2026)

An indoor herb garden puts basil, parsley, chives and mint within reach of the stove all year. The kits on Amazon fall into two camps: countertop hydroponic systems with a built-in LED grow light, water tank and pump, and simple seed-starter kits with pots, coir discs and seeds for a sunny windowsill. Which one suits you comes down to light. Herbs need a lot of it, and many kitchens do not get enough, especially in winter. This guide compares the indoor herb gardens currently listed, explains the specs that matter (light height, tank size, pod count, what is included), and notes what each listing leaves out.

In this guide
  1. The best indoor herb gardens
  2. How to choose an indoor herb garden
  3. Frequently asked questions
  4. References

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 16 current Amazon indoor herb garden listings, seven hydroponic countertop systems and nine soil or seed kits, on what each listing states about pod count, grow light, light-post height, water tank, alerts, included seeds and supplies. We did not test or handle the products, and nothing here describes hands-on use. Availability and listing details change, so confirm the current listing before you buy.

ProductBest forKey featuresBuy
LetPot LPH-SE 12-PodBest overall
  • 24 W LED, light rises to 30 in
  • 5.5 L tank, app and Wi-Fi
  • A and B nutrients included
Buy now →Check current price
Ahopegarden 12-Pod OvalBest for beginners
  • 5 L tank with low-water alert
  • Light post up to 17.32 in
  • Temperature and humidity display
Buy now →Check current price
Ahopegarden 10-Pod LCDBest compact hydroponic
  • 3 L tank, alarm below 1 L
  • Quick-release light panel
  • 16 h and 22 h timer modes
Buy now →Check current price
ROOTCRAFT 5 Herb Wooden BoxBest windowsill planter kit
  • 5 herbs in a wooden box
  • States 95 percent germination
  • Spray bottle and pruning scissors
Buy now →Check current price
LYKOCLEAN 10 Herb KitBest variety with pots and trays
  • 10 herbs, 10 pots with trays
  • Soil discs expand 6 to 8 times
  • Pots in four colors
Buy now →Check current price
PLANTMEW 4 Herb KitBest small starter
  • 4 heirloom culinary herbs
  • 4 plastic pots and soil discs
  • Most sprout in 7 to 14 days
Buy now →Check current price

Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The best indoor herb gardens

1. LetPot LPH-SE 12-Pod Smart Hydroponic Garden — Best overall

Best overallLetPot LPH-SE 12-Pod

12-pod app-controlled hydroponic garden with a 24 W LED that rises to 30 inches, a 5.5 L tank and A and B nutrients.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Only listing that states LED wattage: 24 W.
  • Light rod adjusts up to 30 inches, the tallest listed.
  • 5.5 L tank, the largest on the shelf.
  • App sets a 0 to 24 hour light schedule and water reminders.
Specification Details
Pods 12
Grow light 24 W full spectrum, two modes, 180-degree adjustable
Max light height Up to 30 inches
Tank 5.5 L, with low-water reminder
Controls App and Wi-Fi, automatic timer
Included 12 planting cups with sponges, baskets, covers, A and B nutrients

LetPot LPH-SE — 12 pods, 24 W LED, light to 30 in, 5.5 L tank, app and Wi-Fi, stainless outer shell, A and B nutrients.

The only system on the shelf with app control and a stated light wattage

Of the seven hydroponic listings we compared, the LetPot is the only one with an app and Wi-Fi, and the only one that states its LED wattage. Wattage is not a perfect measure of light, but a stated number is more useful than “full spectrum” alone, which every system claims. The app lets you set any light schedule from 0 to 24 hours, which helps if the garden sits in a room where a bright light at night is a nuisance.

Headroom is the other standout. The LetPot’s light rod extends up to 30 inches; the next tallest on the shelf, the Ahopegarden oval, tops out at 17.32 inches. Basil, which grows tall and bushy indoors, benefits from that extra room. The 5.5 L tank is also the largest stated, and LetPot says it can last up to three weeks between refills.

The listing claims growth “up to 40 percent faster” than soil, which is marketing rather than a measured figure for herbs. It does not say whether seeds are included; it lists cups, sponges, baskets, covers and nutrients, so budget for seeds or seed pods. The stainless steel outer wall is unusual among the plastic-bodied units.

Pros

  • Tallest light and largest tank listed
  • Stated 24 W LED
  • App scheduling and reminders
  • Nutrients included

Cons

  • Seeds not listed as included
  • Needs Wi-Fi and an app for full control
  • Growth-speed claim is marketing

Check LetPot LPH-SE 12-Pod price on Amazon

2. Ahopegarden 12-Pod Oval Hydroponic Garden — Best for beginners

Best for beginnersAhopegarden 12-Pod Oval

12-pod hydroponic garden: 5 L tank, low-water alert, temperature and humidity display, 17.32-inch light post.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Flashing alert when water drops below 1 L.
  • LCD shows room temperature and humidity.
  • 5 L tank with a visible water-level window.
  • Pump runs below 20 dB, per the listing.
Specification Details
Pods 12
Grow light Full spectrum, Vegetable and Fruits and Flowers modes
Max light height Up to 17.32 inches
Tank 5 L with window and low-water alert
Pump noise Below 20 dB (stated)
Wattage Not stated in listing

Ahopegarden 12-pod oval (HSXC2) — 5 L tank, low-water alert, temp and humidity LCD, light to 17.32 in, pump under 20 dB.

One of only two systems that give both a tank size and a low-water alarm threshold

Running a hydroponic garden dry is the quickest way to lose plants. This Ahopegarden and its 10-pod LCD sibling are the only two listings that specify when the alarm trips: below 1 L. Pair that with a 5 L tank and a visible water window, and a beginner has clear warning before roots dry out. The LetPot has a reminder too, but through its app.

The temperature and humidity readout is a small extra that helps you spot problems, such as a cold windowsill or a dry winter room. The pump is listed at under 20 dB, one of two listings (with DRYADES) that state a noise figure, which matters if the garden sits in an open-plan kitchen or a studio apartment.

Ahopegarden sells five listings on this shelf, with 10 or 12 pods and light posts from 14.5 to 17.32 inches. This oval model has the tallest light of the five. The listing does not state wattage or say whether seeds and nutrients are included, so check the box contents before ordering.

Pros

  • Clear low-water alarm
  • Large 5 L tank
  • Quiet pump stated
  • Room conditions display

Cons

  • No wattage stated
  • Light post shorter than the LetPot
  • Seed and nutrient contents not detailed

Check Ahopegarden 12-Pod Oval price on Amazon

3. Ahopegarden 10-Pod Hydroponic Garden with LCD — Best compact hydroponic

Best compact hydroponicAhopegarden 10-Pod LCD

10-pod countertop system with a 3 L tank, low-water alarm, quick-release light panel and 16 h or 22 h timer modes.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • About 11 x 7 inches, sized for a small counter.
  • Low-water alarm flashes below 1 L.
  • Light panel detaches for cleaning.
  • Light post extends in four sections to 15.4 inches.
Specification Details
Pods 10
Tank 3 L with window and low-water alarm
Max light height 15.4 inches
Timer 16 h (vegetables) or 22 h (fruits)
Included Sponges, baskets, nutrients; seeds not included
Footprint About 11 x 7 inches

Ahopegarden 10-pod LCD (HSXC2) — 3 L tank, alarm under 1 L, light to 15.4 in, quick-release panel, seeds not included.

The only listing that states seeds are not included, which is useful honesty

Most hydroponic listings imply a complete kit without saying whether seeds are in the box. This Ahopegarden is the only one that says plainly that seeds are not included, while confirming sponges, baskets and nutrients are. Knowing that up front lets you buy the herbs you actually cook with; our guide to herb seeds covers good varieties.

It is the most compact of the hydroponic picks at roughly 11 by 7 inches, with a 3 L tank, smaller than the 5 L and 5.5 L tanks above, so plan on more frequent top-ups once plants are big. The quick-release light panel is a practical feature no other listing describes; it makes wiping off mineral spots and splashes easier.

The 15.4-inch maximum light height is fine for parsley, chives and thyme, but tall basil may reach the lamp. The listing does not state wattage.

Pros

  • Small footprint
  • Clear low-water alarm
  • Removable light panel
  • Box contents stated clearly

Cons

  • Seeds not included
  • Smaller 3 L tank
  • Limited headroom for tall herbs

Check Ahopegarden 10-Pod LCD price on Amazon

4. ROOTCRAFT 5 Herb Garden Planter with Wooden Box — Best windowsill planter kit

Best windowsill planter kitROOTCRAFT 5 Herb Wooden Box

Five-herb soil kit: burlap bags, coir discs, spray bottle, pruning scissors and a wooden box to keep pots upright.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Wooden box holds the burlap pots upright as herbs grow.
  • Basil, parsley, rosemary, thyme and mint seeds.
  • Listing states a 95 percent germination rate.
  • Includes spray bottle, pruning scissors and three tools.
Specification Details
Herbs Basil, parsley, rosemary, thyme, mint (organic, non-GMO)
Pots 5 burlap bags in a wooden box
Growing medium 5 coconut coir soil discs
Tools 3 garden tools, pruning scissors, spray bottle
Box size About 14.3 x 4.3 x 4.3 inches
Grow light None; needs a bright window

ROOTCRAFT 5 herb kit — 5 seed varieties, burlap pots, coir discs, wooden box ~14.3 x 4.3 in, scissors, spray bottle.

One of three soil kits with a wooden planter box, and the only one to put a number on germination

Burlap grow bags are light and cheap, but they tip over once herbs get top-heavy. Three listings solve that with a wooden box: this ROOTCRAFT, an AVERGO kit and a LUOJIBIE 8-herb kit. The ROOTCRAFT box is long and narrow, about 14.3 by 4.3 inches, which fits along most windowsills. Four listings make germination claims, but ROOTCRAFT is the only one to state a figure: 95 percent, tested in the USA.

Iowa State University Extension recommends growing each herb species in its own container, since herbs differ in their needs, and that is what individual burlap pots allow. The mix leans toward cooking staples. Iowa State lists basil, mint and thyme among the easiest herbs indoors, while rosemary has higher light needs, so give it the brightest spot on the sill.

The kit has no grow light, so success depends on your window. Iowa State says most herbs need around eight hours of direct light indoors; in winter or in a north-facing room, add a light. The listing does not say whether the burlap pots drain into the box, so empty excess water after misting.

Pros

  • Wooden box keeps pots stable
  • Stated germination rate
  • Spray bottle and scissors included
  • Fits a narrow sill

Cons

  • No grow light
  • Only five herbs
  • Drainage not described

Check ROOTCRAFT 5 Herb Wooden Box price on Amazon

5. LYKOCLEAN 10 Indoor Herb Garden Kit — Best variety with pots and trays

Best variety with pots and traysLYKOCLEAN 10 Herb Kit

Ten-herb kit with 10 pots and trays in four colors, expanding soil discs, plant markers and three tools.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Ten culinary herbs, from basil to scallions.
  • Each pot comes with its own tray.
  • Soil discs expand 6 to 8 times.
  • Pots in white, gray, terracotta and green.
Specification Details
Herbs Basil, dill, cilantro, parsley, oregano, sage, thyme, rosemary, chives, scallion
Pots 10 pots with 10 trays, four colors
Growing medium 10 soil discs (expand 6 to 8 times)
Extras 10 plant markers, 3 garden tools, instruction booklet
Pot size About 4 x 4 x 4 inches (product data)
Pot material Not stated in listing

LYKOCLEAN 10-herb kit — 10 seed varieties, 10 pots with trays in 4 colors, expanding discs, markers, 3 tools.

One of only two soil kits that include a tray under each pot

Most soil kits on the shelf use burlap bags or biodegradable pots with nothing underneath, which is fine on a balcony but messy on a painted windowsill. LYKOCLEAN and AVERGO are the only two kits that list trays, and LYKOCLEAN gives one tray per pot. Reusable pots also outlast burlap, so the kit keeps working after the first round of seeds.

Ten herbs is the joint-largest selection among the planter kits we compared; ROOTCRAFT’s 10-herb kit lists the same ten species in burlap pots. The LYKOCLEAN version trades burlap for colored pots with trays. A loose seed pack such as the HOME GROWN 15-herb set offers more varieties, but no pots or soil.

The listing does not say what the pots are made of or whether they have drainage holes, which matters because Iowa State Extension notes that most herbs do not tolerate wet soil. Check the photos, and if the pots do not drain, water lightly and tip out the trays. Like all soil kits, it needs a bright window or a grow light.

Pros

  • Ten herb varieties
  • Tray under every pot
  • Reusable pots
  • Markers and tools included

Cons

  • Pot material not stated
  • Drainage holes not mentioned
  • Ten pots need a lot of sill space

Check LYKOCLEAN 10 Herb Kit price on Amazon

6. PLANTMEW 4 Herb Indoor Garden Starter Kit — Best small starter

Best small starterPLANTMEW 4 Herb Kit

Four-herb starter with cilantro, Genovese basil, chives and Italian parsley seeds, four plastic pots and soil discs.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Four heirloom, non-GMO cooking herbs.
  • Plastic pots, not burlap.
  • States most herbs sprout in 7 to 14 days.
  • Small footprint for a narrow sill.
Specification Details
Herbs Cilantro, Genovese basil, common chives, Italian giant parsley
Pots 4 plastic planter pots
Growing medium 4 soil discs
Extras 4 plant markers, planting tools, instructions
Seed freshness Sourced from the latest growing season (stated)
Grow light None

PLANTMEW 4-herb kit — 4 heirloom seed packs, 4 plastic pots, soil discs, markers, tools; most sprout in 7 to 14 days.

The smallest kit with plastic pots, focused on four everyday herbs

Not everyone wants ten herbs. This PLANTMEW kit sticks to four that most cooks use weekly: basil, parsley, chives and cilantro. Iowa State Extension lists all four among the herbs that best tolerate indoor conditions, including lower light, so this mix suits an average kitchen window better than a kit heavy on rosemary or sage.

It is one of the few soil kits with plastic pots rather than burlap or biodegradable pots; the same brand’s 9-herb kit uses biodegradable pots. The listing gives a specific sprouting window, 7 to 14 days, and says seeds come from the latest growing season.

Cilantro tends to bolt, so sow a few seeds every few weeks for a steady supply. The listing does not say whether the pots have drainage holes or include saucers.

Pros

  • Focused set of common herbs
  • Durable plastic pots
  • Sprouting time stated
  • Compact

Cons

  • Only four herbs
  • No trays mentioned
  • No grow light

Check PLANTMEW 4 Herb Kit price on Amazon

How to choose an indoor herb garden

Hydroponic system or soil kit?

Hydroponic systems bring their own light, which is their biggest advantage. University of Illinois Extension notes that leafy greens and herbs are good first crops for home hydroponics because they grow quickly and take up little space, and that plants grown hydroponically often mature faster than in soil. The trade-offs are cost, electricity, and more management: checking water, nutrient strength and pH, and cleaning the system between crops to prevent algae and salt buildup.

Soil kits are cheaper and simpler, but they rely on daylight. If you have a bright south-facing window, a soil kit can work well. If not, plan to add a grow light or choose a hydroponic unit. For more on container herbs, see our guides on herb planters and indoor plant pots.

Light is the deciding spec

Iowa State University Extension says light is usually the most limiting factor for indoor herbs, that most need around eight hours of direct light a day, and that grow lights should sit within 6 to 12 inches of the leaves on a timer for 12 to 16 hours a day. When comparing systems, look for:

  • Maximum light height: taller posts give basil and other tall herbs room. On this shelf they range from 14.5 to 30 inches.
  • Timer modes: most systems offer a 16-hour vegetable mode; some offer 22-hour fruiting modes.
  • Stated wattage: rare in these listings, but useful when given.

Pale, stretched, floppy herbs mean the light is too weak or too far away. Lower the light, lengthen the day, and pinch back tips.

Tank size and alerts

A bigger tank means fewer refills as plants mature. Tanks on this shelf range from 3 L to 5.5 L where stated. A low-water alarm or reminder is worth having, because a pump running dry for a weekend can stunt or kill seedlings. Use the nutrients the system calls for, and top up with fresh water between nutrient doses.

Pods, seeds and running costs

More pods sound better, but a 12-pod unit gets crowded when every site holds a full-size basil plant. Many growers fill only eight or nine pods and give each plant room. Check whether seeds, sponges and nutrients are included. Systems that accept your own seeds in sponges keep running costs low. Soil kits need replacement coir or potting mix for each new round.

Placement and care

Keep the garden away from heat vents and cold drafts, and within reach of an outlet for hydroponic units. In soil kits, let the surface dry slightly between waterings; Iowa State notes most herbs do not tolerate wet soil and that clay pots dry out more readily. Snip herbs often to keep them bushy, and dry surplus harvests on an herb drying rack. For small-space growing ideas, browse our urban gardening hub and houseplants and container gardening guide.

Frequently asked questions

How much light do indoor herbs need?

Iowa State Extension says most herbs need around eight hours of direct light a day indoors. A south-facing window is best, with bright east or west windows next. Where that is not possible, a grow light 6 to 12 inches above the leaves on a 12 to 16 hour timer works well.

Which herbs grow best indoors?

Iowa State Extension lists parsley, mint, chives, basil, oregano, cilantro and thyme as the best herbs to start with indoors, because they tolerate lower light, low humidity and cooler rooms. Rosemary, sage, lemon balm, marjoram and bay laurel can work too but have higher light needs.

Do hydroponic herb gardens need nutrients?

Yes. There is no soil to supply food, so you add liquid nutrients to the tank on the schedule the maker gives. Several systems include starter nutrients; after that you buy refills. Clean the tank between crops to prevent algae and mineral buildup.

How long until the first harvest?

Seed kits typically sprout in one to two weeks, and fast herbs such as basil can be pinched a few weeks after that under good light. Slow herbs such as rosemary and thyme take longer. Harvest small amounts often rather than cutting a plant back hard.

Is a grow light needed with a soil herb kit?

Not if you have a sunny south-facing window in summer. In winter, in north-facing rooms or in kitchens with small windows, a grow light makes a large difference. Long, lanky stems are the sign that plants need more light.

References

Written by

The Urban Lotus Project editorial team researches and writes our gardening, lawn, pond and landscaping guides from university extension services, USDA data, product labels and manufacturer specifications, and updates them as advice and products change.

WhatsApp