Deer can strip a hosta bed, a row of tulips or a young apple tree in a single night. A deer repellent buys you time by making plants taste bad, smell threatening, or both, so browsing deer move on to an easier meal. No repellent is a guarantee. University extension services consistently describe fencing as the only sure way to stop deer, and say repellents work best on less-preferred plants, applied early and reapplied often. Within those limits, the right deer repellent can sharply cut damage in a garden or landscape. This guide compares the sprays, granules, stations and scent pouches currently listed on Amazon by what each listing states about how it works, where it can be used, how long it lasts and how much ground it covers.
Part of our Pest Control guide →
In this guide
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 17 current Amazon deer repellent listings (nine sprays and concentrates, two granular products, one repellent station and five scent pouch or ball products) on what each listing states about active ingredients, how it repels, where it may be used, coverage, how long it lasts and how it handles rain. We then checked repellent advice against university extension and EPA sources. We did not test or use the products, and nothing here describes hands-on results. Product labels, not listings, are the final word on use, so read the label on the product you receive. Availability and listing details change.
| Product | Best for | Key features | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Liquid Fence RTU 1 Gallon | Best overall ready-to-use spray |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Bobbex Concentrate 32 oz | Best concentrate with clear limits |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Safer Deer-Off Stations | Best near vegetable gardens |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Nature's MACE Granules 25 lb | Best for large ground-level areas |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| TRICO Concentrate 32 oz | Best long-lasting concentrate |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| IMUSTGARDEN Spice 1 Gal | Best for flower beds |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Deer Out Concentrate 32 oz | Best mint-scented concentrate |
| Buy now →Check current price |
Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The best deer repellents for gardens and landscapes
1. Liquid Fence Deer and Rabbit Repellent, Ready-to-Use 1 Gallon — Best overall ready-to-use spray

Ready-to-use deer and rabbit spray for ornamentals, shrubs, trees and vines, rain resistant, covering up to 2,000 sq ft.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Works by scent, so deer need not take a bite.
- Ready to use, no mixing.
- Covers up to 2,000 square feet per gallon.
- Rain resistant once applied.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Ready-to-use contact spray |
| How it works | Scent aversion |
| Labeled targets | Ornamental gardens, flowers, shrubs, trees, vines |
| Coverage | Up to 2,000 sq ft |
| Weather | Rain resistant |
| Active ingredients | Not stated in listing |
Liquid Fence HG-80109 — 1 gal ready-to-use deer and rabbit spray, scent based, rain resistant, up to 2,000 sq ft.
The ready-to-use spray on the shelf that states the largest coverage figure
Nine of the 17 listings are sprays or concentrates you apply to foliage. Among the ready-to-use sprays, Liquid Fence is the one that states a coverage figure, up to 2,000 square feet from the gallon, which makes it easy to judge how far a jug will go across a border or a row of shrubs. The listing explains that deer and rabbits do not need to eat treated plants for it to work, because they avoid the scent. That matters: a repellent that only works by taste still loses a few nibbled shoots before deer learn.
It is pitched at ornamental gardens, flowers, shrubs, trees and vines, and described as rain resistant once applied. Year-round use is listed, with a reminder to shake well before each use. A ready-to-use gallon is the simplest way to start: pour into a pump sprayer or use the jug’s own trigger, and treat the plants deer are hitting.
What the listing does not state: the active ingredients, how long one application lasts, or whether it may be used on food crops. The listing focuses on ornamentals, so check the label before spraying anything you plan to eat.
Pros
- Scent-based, works before deer bite
- No mixing
- Stated coverage of 2,000 sq ft
- Rain resistant
Cons
- Active ingredients not listed
- No reapplication interval stated
- Edible use not addressed in listing
Check Liquid Fence RTU 1 Gallon price on Amazon
2. Bobbex Concentrated Deer Repellent, 32 oz — Best concentrate with clear limits

32 oz taste and odor concentrate, up to two months per the listing, with stated edible-crop limits.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Combines several smell and taste deterrents.
- States it lasts up to two months after application.
- Spells out edible crops it is not designed for.
- Concentrate stretches further than ready-to-use.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Concentrate, dilute in water |
| How it works | Taste and odor, wintergreen scent |
| Duration | Up to two months per listing |
| Use on | Ornamentals and most edible vegetables |
| Not designed for | Most edible leaves and herbs, rough-skinned berries |
| Targets | Deer, elk, moose |
Bobbex B550100 — 32 oz concentrate, taste and odor deterrents, wintergreen scent, up to two months, ornamentals and most vegetables.
One of only two brands on the shelf that state which edible crops to avoid
Food-crop use is where deer repellents most often go wrong. University of Illinois Extension notes that many repellents are not labeled for use on food crops. Of the 17 listings, only the two Bobbex listings (this concentrate and a ready-to-use two-pack) spell out where their product should not go: they say it can be used on ornamentals and most edible vegetables, but is not designed for most edible leaves and herbs, or for rough-skinned berries like strawberries and raspberries. That kind of plain limit is exactly what a home gardener with a mixed bed needs to know before spraying.
The concentrate is diluted in water before use and can go into a pump sprayer. Bobbex describes a combination of smell and taste deterrents with a wintergreen scent and says one application lasts up to two months. Two months is the second-longest duration stated among the sprays, behind TRICO’s six months.
What the listing does not state: the dilution rate, coverage per bottle, or specific active ingredients. Treat “proven” and “most effective” in the listing as marketing claims, and follow the mixing directions on the label.
Pros
- Clear edible-crop limits
- Taste plus odor deterrents
- Up to two months per application
- Concentrate for larger areas
Cons
- Dilution rate not in the listing
- Coverage not stated
- Not for leafy greens or herbs
Check Bobbex Concentrate 32 oz price on Amazon
3. Safer Brand Deer-Off Repellent Stations, 6-Pack — Best near vegetable gardens

Six weatherproof dried-blood scent stations, up to 90 days and 192 sq ft, hung or staked.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Only blood-based product stated on the shelf.
- Repellent stays sealed in a weatherproof housing.
- Listed as safe for vegetable gardens.
- No spraying; hang from branches or stake in beds.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Area repellent stations |
| Active ingredient | 100% dried blood |
| How it works | Scent triggers a flight response |
| Duration | Up to 90 days, season-long per listing |
| Coverage | Up to 192 sq ft per 6-pack |
| Odor to people | Described as undetectable |
Safer Brand Deer-Off 5962 — 6 stations, dried blood, weatherproof housing, up to 90 days, 192 sq ft, hang or stake.
The only listing on the shelf that names a blood-based active ingredient
University of Illinois Extension reports that university studies have consistently found repellents with putrescent egg solids or blood-based ingredients among the most effective. Of the 17 listings we compared, the Safer Deer-Off stations are the only one that names a blood-based active ingredient, 100% dried blood, and no listing on the shelf names egg solids. Deer read the scent as a threat and leave, while the listing says people cannot smell it.
The station format solves a practical problem. Because the repellent stays inside a weatherproof housing rather than on leaves, Safer describes it as safe for vegetable gardens, with placement anywhere outdoors. You hang the stations from branches or stake them in beds, and the listing claims up to 90 days of protection from one setup. That makes it a good fit around lettuce, beans and other crops you would not want to spray.
The limit is area. A six-pack covers up to 192 square feet, which suits a raised bed or a small vegetable plot, not a long border. The listing’s weight figure looks like a data error, and it does not state how close together to set the stations; follow the label spacing.
Pros
- Blood-based scent
- Nothing sprayed on plants
- Listed as safe for vegetable gardens
- Up to 90 days per setup
Cons
- Small coverage per pack
- Area scent only, no taste deterrent
- Spacing not stated in listing
Check Safer Deer-Off Stations price on Amazon
4. Nature’s MACE Deer and Rabbit Repellent Granules, 25 lb — Best for large ground-level areas

25 lb granular deer and rabbit repellent for low plants under 2 ft, spread around beds, covering up to 25,000 sq ft.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Largest stated coverage on the shelf.
- Granules suit beds, seedlings and low shrubs.
- Spread around plants rather than sprayed on them.
- Time-released formula per the listing.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Granular area repellent |
| Size | 25 lb |
| Coverage | Up to 25,000 sq ft |
| Best for | Ground vegetation under 2 ft tall |
| Application | Heavy first pass, about 18 in from beds |
| Active ingredients | Not stated in listing |
Nature’s MACE granules — 25 lb, up to 25,000 sq ft, for plants under 2 ft, spread about 18 in from beds, time-released.
The largest coverage figure of any listing on the shelf
Two listings are granular: this Nature’s MACE bucket and a 25 lb bucket of Deer Scram, whose listing gives no detail beyond its name and size. Nature’s MACE states up to 25,000 square feet of coverage, nearly ten times the coverage claimed by any spray on the shelf, which makes granules the practical choice for long borders, large beds, and the perimeter of a vegetable plot.
The listing is clear about where granules work: on lower-level ground vegetation, such as flowers, crops, seedlings, ornamentals, shrubs and garden beds under 2 feet tall. For the first application, it says to spread granules heavily and evenly about 18 inches away from the plants you want to protect, which builds a scent barrier deer cross before they reach the bed. That also keeps product off the plants themselves.
The limit is height. Deer browse from the top down, and granules on the ground will not protect the upper branches of a young tree or tall shrub; use a spray or physical guard there. The listing does not name its active ingredients or a reapplication interval, so follow the label.
Pros
- Covers up to 25,000 sq ft
- Applied around plants, not on them
- Good for beds and low plantings
- Clear first-application guidance
Cons
- Not for plants over 2 ft
- Ingredients not stated
- 25 lb bucket is a lot for a small yard
Check Nature's MACE Granules 25 lb price on Amazon
5. TRICO Home and Garden Deer, Elk and Moose Repellent Concentrate, 32 oz — Best long-lasting concentrate

Sheep fat emulsion concentrate, scent and taste, up to 6 months per application and 2,550 sq ft.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Longest stated protection on the shelf, up to 6 months.
- Scent and taste barrier in one.
- Oil-in-water emulsion bonds to foliage once dry.
- Highest coverage stated among the sprays.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Concentrate, oil-in-water emulsion |
| Base | Sheep fat-derived compounds |
| How it works | Scent and taste |
| Duration | Up to 6 months per application |
| Coverage | Up to 2,550 sq ft |
| Weather | Rain, snow and wind resistant once dry |
TRICO Home and Garden 32 oz — sheep fat emulsion concentrate, scent and taste, up to 6 months, up to 2,550 sq ft.
The longest protection period stated by any listing on the shelf
Most sprays on the shelf state no duration at all, and the Bobbex concentrate claims up to two months. TRICO states up to six months from a single application, the longest on the shelf, and up to 2,550 square feet of coverage from the 32-ounce concentrate, the highest of any spray. Its formula is an oil-in-water emulsion of sheep fat-derived compounds that the listing says bonds to vegetation after drying and stays effective through rain, snow and wind. That durability is the reason it is sold for forestry, orchards, vineyards and nurseries.
For home gardeners, the long interval is most useful on trees and shrubs over winter, when deer browse buds and you do not want to respray every few weeks in the cold. Colorado State University Extension advises applying repellents on a dry day with temperatures above freezing, and hanging or applying them at the bud or new growth level, since deer browse from the top down.
Keep expectations realistic. Six months is a manufacturer’s maximum, and hungry deer in a hard winter will test any repellent. The listing does not give a dilution rate or say how new growth after spraying is protected, since fresh shoots will not carry the coating. TRICO also sells a 4-gallon pack for larger properties.
Pros
- Up to 6 months per application
- Scent and taste barrier
- Weatherproof once dry
- Up to 2,550 sq ft per bottle
Cons
- Dilution rate not stated in listing
- New growth needs retreating
- Six months is a best case
Check TRICO Concentrate 32 oz price on Amazon
6. IMUSTGARDEN Deer Repellent, Spice Scent, 1 Gallon Ready-to-Use — Best for flower beds

Ready-to-use deer spray with taste deterrents and cinnamon-clove botanical oils, made to stick through average rainfall.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Names the perennials, annuals and shrubs it protects.
- Pleasant cinnamon-clove scent for beds near the house.
- Sticking agents so average rain does not wash it off.
- Ready to use, poured into your own sprayer.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Ready-to-use refill |
| How it works | Taste deterrents plus irritating botanical oils |
| Scent | Cinnamon and clove |
| Rain | No reapplication after average rainfall |
| Use on | Perennials, annuals, shrubs and vegetables |
| Size | 1 gallon |
IMUSTGARDEN DA1G — 1 gal ready-to-use spray, taste deterrents plus cinnamon-clove oils, sticks through average rain.
The only listing on the shelf that names the garden plants it is meant for
Most listings describe where to use them in general terms such as gardens, shrubs and trees. IMUSTGARDEN is the only one that names specific plants deer favor: hostas, daylilies, roses, tulips and oriental lilies among perennials; pansies and impatiens among annuals; and azaleas, rhododendrons and hawthorns among shrubs. If those are the plants deer are eating in your yard, this listing is written for you.
The formula combines ingredients that make plants unpalatable with botanical oils meant to irritate a deer’s sense of smell, and a cinnamon-clove scent that is easier to live with than egg or garlic sprays on a patio bed. The listing says natural sticking agents mean it does not need reapplying after average rainfall. It comes as a ready-to-use refill to pour into your own sprayer.
What the listing does not state: a coverage figure or a reapplication interval. It lists vegetables among its uses, but check the label for any harvest or edible-plant directions before spraying crops. Claims that it contains triple the active ingredients of other repellents are the brand’s own comparison.
Pros
- Names the plants it protects
- Pleasant spice scent
- Holds through average rain
- No mixing needed
Cons
- No coverage figure
- No reapplication interval
- Needs a separate sprayer
Check IMUSTGARDEN Spice 1 Gal price on Amazon
7. Deer Out Concentrate Deer Repellent, 32 oz — Best mint-scented concentrate

32 oz mint-scented concentrate with two natural stickers for rain resistance, sold for year-round use on plants.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Mint scent that is pleasant to people.
- Two natural stickers to resist washing off.
- Formulated for use in all four seasons.
- Also sold ready to use if you prefer no mixing.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Concentrate |
| Scent | Mint |
| Stickers | Two natural stickers |
| Weather | Rain resistant per listing |
| Season | Year-round |
| Coverage and duration | Not stated in listing |
Deer Out D32 — 32 oz mint-scented concentrate, two natural stickers, rain resistant, year-round use.
One of two brands on the shelf offering the same formula as concentrate and ready-to-use
Deer Out appears twice on the shelf, as this 32-ounce concentrate and as a 40-ounce ready-to-use bottle with the same mint formula. Bobbex is the other brand offering both formats. That flexibility is useful: start with the ready-to-use bottle on a few plants, then move to the concentrate in a pump sprayer once you know it suits your yard.
Deer Out is built around a mint scent that the listing says people find pleasant while deer, elk and moose avoid it, and two natural stickers to keep it on plants through rain. It is sold for use in every season. Mint is a common theme on this shelf: the Nature’s MACE spray and several scent pouches also lean on mint or peppermint.
The listing is thin on specifics. It does not state active ingredients beyond “natural,” a dilution rate, coverage per bottle, or how often to reapply. University of Illinois Extension notes that many repellents are not labeled for food crops, and this listing does not address edible use, so check the label before spraying vegetables.
Pros
- Pleasant mint scent
- Rain-resistant stickers
- Year-round use
- Concentrate and ready-to-use options
Cons
- No dilution rate or coverage stated
- No reapplication interval
- Edible use not addressed
Check Deer Out Concentrate 32 oz price on Amazon
How to choose and use a deer repellent
Always follow the label
Before anything else: read and follow the label on the product you buy. The EPA explains that pesticide product labels are legally enforceable and carry the statement that it is a violation of federal law to use the product in a manner inconsistent with its labeling, or in short, “the label is the law.” Labels tell you which plants a repellent may be used on, whether it may touch food crops and how long before harvest, how to mix it, how often to reapply, and how to protect people, pets and water. Listings on Amazon are marketing copy and can be incomplete. If a label and a listing disagree, the label wins.
Contact versus area repellents
Colorado State University Extension divides deer repellents into two types. Contact repellents are applied directly to plants and make them taste bad. Area repellents are placed in a problem area and repel by foul odor. On this shelf, the sprays and concentrates work mainly as contact repellents, though several also claim a scent effect; the granules, stations and scent pouches are area repellents. Many gardeners use both, for example a spray on prized shrubs and granules around the bed.
Which ingredients have the best track record
University of Illinois Extension reports that university studies have consistently found repellents containing putrescent egg solids or blood-based ingredients among the most effective. Colorado State University Extension lists a homemade spray of 20 percent whole eggs and 80 percent water as one of the most effective repellents, reapplied about every 30 days, and describes home remedies such as hanging soap and bags of human hair as questionable at best. Peppermint and other essential-oil pouches are common on Amazon, but their listings make broad claims without stated research, so treat them as a supplement rather than a main defense.
Timing and reapplication
Start before damage begins, since deer that have already found a food source are harder to turn away. Colorado State University Extension advises applying on a dry day with temperatures above freezing, and treating at the bud or new-growth level because deer browse from the top down. Reapply after heavy rain, on new growth, and on the schedule the label gives. An Ask Extension expert response advises that repellents must be rotated and reapplied frequently, and that physical barriers remain the most reliable protection.
Edible gardens
Be most careful around food. University of Illinois Extension notes that many repellents are not labeled for food crops. Look for a product that explicitly allows edible use on its label, consider an area product like repellent stations that keeps material off the plants, or fence the vegetable garden and save repellents for ornamentals.
Combine repellents with other defenses
Extension services agree that fencing is the most reliable control. University of Illinois Extension notes that deer are excellent jumpers, so exclusion fences need to be at least eight feet high, and that electric fencing is an alternative. See our guide to deer fencing and our step-by-step on how to keep deer out of your garden. Planting less-preferred species also helps, because repellents work better on plants deer do not crave; browse our lists of deer-resistant plants, perennials and shrubs. For rabbits, groundhogs and other visitors, our animal repellents roundup and the pest control guide cover the options. If deer pressure is severe across a large property, a landscaper can design and install fencing; you can request quotes through our landscaping services page.
Frequently asked questions
Do deer repellents really work?
They can reduce damage, but rarely stop it completely. Extension services describe fencing as the only sure control. Repellents work best when applied before damage starts, reapplied on schedule, used on plants deer do not strongly prefer, and combined with other measures.
How often should deer repellent be reapplied?
Follow the product label. Listings on this shelf claim anything from a few weeks to six months, and rain, new growth and deer pressure all shorten real-world protection. Reapply after heavy rain and whenever new shoots appear.
Are deer repellents safe on vegetables?
Only if the label allows it. Many repellents are not labeled for food crops. On this shelf, the Bobbex listings state they can be used on most edible vegetables but not most edible leaves, herbs or rough-skinned berries, and the Safer stations keep repellent inside a housing and are described as safe for vegetable gardens.
Should deer repellents be rotated?
An Ask Extension expert response advises rotating and reapplying repellents frequently. Switching between products with different active ingredients, or pairing a spray with an area repellent, may help keep deer from settling into a routine around a single scent or taste.
Do peppermint pouches keep deer away?
Several listings sell peppermint or essential-oil pouches, but they do not cite research, and extension services describe many home-style scent remedies as inconsistent. They may help in a small area as one layer of defense, but should not be relied on alone.