Urban Gardening

The Best Raised Garden Beds for Every Space and Budget

The best raised garden bed is the one that matches your ground, your crops and how far you can comfortably bend. A good bed lifts plants out of compacted or poor native soil, drains better than flat ground, warms earlier in spring and keeps weeding to a few minutes from the path. The choices on Amazon now cover galvanized and powder-coated steel, cedar, fir and standing planters on legs, and the listings vary a lot in depth, wall thickness and what they actually promise. Below are seven raised garden beds that each suit a different job, from a long-life modular steel bed to a standing cedar planter for a deck, followed by a buying guide on depth, materials, soil and drainage.

In this guide
  1. The best raised garden beds compared
  2. How to choose a raised garden bed
  3. Frequently asked questions
  4. References

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How we compared: we compared 23 current Amazon listings for raised garden beds, cedar raised beds and metal raised beds, based on what each listing states about size, depth, material, assembly, drainage and warranty. We did not test or handle the products, so every product detail below comes from the seller’s own listing. Availability and listing details change, so confirm the current version before you buy.

ProductBest forKey featuresBuy
Vego Garden 9-in-1 Metal BedBest overall
  • 9 layouts from one kit
  • 17 in tall coated steel
  • Rubber edging, no sharp corners
Buy now →Check current price
Greenes Fence Premium Cedar 4x8Best cedar bed
  • 3/4 in untreated cedar boards
  • Tool-free dovetail corners
  • Holds up to 46.7 cu ft of soil
Buy now →Check current price
Best Choice Products 8x4x2 MetalBest for deep-rooted crops
  • 24 in growing depth
  • About 478 gallons of soil
  • Listing cites FHSA testing
Buy now →Check current price
Gardener's Supply Elevated Cedar 2x8Best standing-height bed
  • 29 in tall, 10 in deep
  • 16 sq ft of growing space
  • Aluminum legs and corners
Buy now →Check current price
Best Choice Products Elevated PlanterBest for patios and decks
  • 30 in ergonomic height
  • Rated for 300 lb
  • Divider panel and six legs
Buy now →Check current price
Tegarbed 4x2x1 Oval (2-Pack)Best for small yards
  • Two 4x2 ft oval beds
  • Average 1 mm galvanized steel
  • About 20 minute assembly
Buy now →Check current price
Infinite Cedar Premium 3x6Best long-term wood bed
  • 1 in thick western red cedar
  • 5-year workmanship warranty
  • Made in Maine, no tools
Buy now →Check current price

Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The best raised garden beds compared

1. Vego Garden 9-in-1 Modular Metal Bed — Best overall

Best overallVego Garden 9-in-1 Metal Bed

A 17-inch modular steel kit that builds one of nine layouts, with rubber-capped edges and a stated 20+ year life.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • One kit assembles into nine different bed shapes
  • 17-inch walls suit most vegetables and reduce bending
  • Zinc, magnesium and aluminum coated steel with paint
  • Oval corners and rubber edging cover sharp panel edges
Specification Details
Size About 8 ft x 2 ft in its long layout, 17 in tall
Material Zn-Mg-Al coated steel with a painted finish (sold as VZ 2.0)
Configurations Nine possible layouts from one kit
Stated life span 20+ years, per the listing
Bottom Ground planter; base not stated in listing
Kit weight 33 lb

Vego Garden 9-in-1 — 17 in coated steel, 8 x 2 ft long layout, nine configurations, olive green finish

The only listing that states a life span and a lab check

Most metal listings on this shelf describe their coating in general terms such as anti-rust, double-layer galvanizing or anti-corrosion paint. The Vego listing goes further: it names the coating blend, states a life span of more than 20 years and says the material’s performance was verified at a Texas A&M corrosion lab. None of the other 11 metal listings we compared gives a numeric life span. It is still the seller’s claim, but a more specific one than “durable”.

The other reason this is the overall pick is flexibility. The same panels build one of nine layouts, and it is the only listing that states a set number of configurations. At 17 inches, the wall height sits between the 10 to 12 inch oval kits and the 24 inch deep-root boxes, which is a sensible middle for tomatoes, peppers and most root crops on an open base.

What the listing does not say matters too. It does not give a soil volume, a panel thickness or a statement about whether the bed is bottomless, so plan to check the box contents and measure fill needs yourself. If you are weighing steel against wood more generally, our galvanized vs cedar raised bed comparison walks through the trade-offs.

Pros

  • Nine layouts from one kit
  • Most specific coating and life-span claims on the shelf
  • Rounded corners with rubber edge trim
  • 17 in height is a useful middle depth

Cons

  • Soil volume not stated in listing
  • Panel thickness not stated
  • Many fasteners to tighten during assembly

Check Vego Garden 9-in-1 Metal Bed price on Amazon

2. Greenes Fence Premium Cedar 4x8x17.5 — Best cedar bed

Best cedarGreenes Fence Premium Cedar 4x8

A 4 x 8 ft untreated cedar bed with 3/4-inch boards, dovetail corners and routed posts for stacking.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Untreated North American cedar, made in the USA
  • 3/4-inch sanded boards with 2.5-inch corner posts
  • Dovetail joints slide together without tools
  • Routed posts let you stack or extend the bed later
Specification Details
Size 4 ft x 8 ft x 17.5 in tall
Material Untreated North American cedar
Board thickness 3/4 in, with 2.5 in square posts
Soil capacity Up to 46.7 cubic feet
Assembly Tool-free dovetail joints
Warranty Not stated in listing

Greenes Fence Premium Cedar — 4 x 8 ft, 17.5 in tall, 3/4 in untreated cedar, 46.7 cu ft fill

The only bed on the shelf built to stack and expand

Nine of the 23 listings are cedar beds, and most of them are fixed boxes. The Greenes Fence Premium bed is the only listing that says its routed corner posts allow stacking and expansion, so you can start at this height and add courses or extra sections in later seasons.

Board thickness is the other number worth reading on cedar listings. This bed’s 3/4-inch boards sit above the Greenes Fence Classic (1/2 inch) and the Infinite Cedar Select (11/16 inch), and below the 1-inch boards on the Infinite Cedar Premium. Thicker boards generally bow less under wet soil and last longer, which matters on a 4 x 8 ft bed filled almost 18 inches deep. The wood is left untreated to weather to silver-gray.

Fill is the hidden cost. At up to 46.7 cubic feet, this bed takes far more soil than the compact 2 x 4 ft kits, so price out bulk soil before you order and read our raised bed soil mix guide for blends that keep the cost reasonable.

Pros

  • Only listing that states stacking and expansion
  • Untreated cedar, made in the USA
  • Tool-free dovetail setup
  • Deep 17.5 in walls for root crops

Cons

  • Needs a large volume of fill soil
  • No warranty stated in listing
  • Boards thinner than the Infinite Cedar Premium

Check Greenes Fence Premium Cedar 4x8 price on Amazon

3. Best Choice Products 8x4x2 Metal Bed — Best for deep-rooted crops

Best for deep rootsBest Choice Products 8x4x2 Metal

A 24-inch deep powder-coated steel bed holding about 478 gallons, with materials the listing says passed FHSA testing.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Full 24 inches of depth for deep-rooted vegetables
  • Listing cites independent FHSA testing and Prop 65 compliance
  • Wingnut and bolt assembly needs no tools
  • Rubber edging and three stabilizing rods
Specification Details
Size 96 in x 48 in x 24 in tall
Soil capacity About 478 gallons, or 64 cubic feet
Material Powder-coated steel panels
Bottom Open; no bottom panel included
Bracing Three stabilizing rods
Weight 47 lb

Best Choice Products SKY6372 — 8 x 4 x 2 ft powder-coated steel, open bottom, about 478 gal capacity

The only brand on the shelf citing FHSA material testing

Many listings say their coatings are safe or environmentally friendly. This listing, along with its 6 x 3 ft sibling from the same brand, is the only one that says its materials were independently tested to FHSA standards, screened for PFAS and checked for heavy metals and phthalates.

Depth is the main reason to choose it. Four listings on the shelf offer a 24 inch deep ground bed, and this single 8 x 4 ft box is the largest of them sold as one unit (the Land Guard 8 x 4 x 2 comes as a two-pack). That depth gives potatoes and large tomatoes room even on rocky or clay ground.

The trade-off is volume. Filling 64 cubic feet with bagged soil is a large job, and a 24 inch bed is a good candidate for filling the lower part with coarse organic material. The listing does not state the steel thickness, so the three stabilizing rods are the main structural detail it offers.

Pros

  • 24 in depth suits deep-rooted crops
  • Most detailed material-safety claims on the shelf
  • Tool-free assembly with rubber edging
  • Large single 8 x 4 ft bed

Cons

  • Needs about 478 gallons of fill
  • Steel thickness not stated in listing
  • Too large to move once filled

Check Best Choice Products 8x4x2 Metal price on Amazon

4. Gardener’s Supply Elevated Cedar Bed 2×8 — Best standing-height bed

Best standing heightGardener's Supply Elevated Cedar 2x8

A 29-inch tall cedar planter on aluminum legs with 16 square feet of growing space and a slatted, vented box.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Largest growing area among the standing planters
  • 29-inch height removes stooping and kneeling
  • Rustproof aluminum legs and corners
  • Slatted base and side vents for drainage and air
Specification Details
Size 96 in x 24 in x 29 in tall
Soil depth 10 in
Capacity About 13 cubic feet (340 dry quarts)
Material Cedar box, aluminum legs and corners
Drainage Slatted base with side vents
Weight limit Not stated in listing

Gardener’s Supply 2×8 Elevated Cedar — 96 x 24 x 29 in, 10 in deep, about 13 cu ft, made in the USA

The largest elevated growing area on the shelf

Five listings on the shelf are standing planters on legs. Three of them, including this brand’s own 2 x 4 version, offer a 48 x 24 inch box, and the Best Choice Products planter reaches 72 x 24 inches. This 2 x 8 ft bed is the longest at 96 inches, with 16 square feet of growing space and about 13 cubic feet of mix.

The aluminum legs and corners are another point in its favor. Apart from its own 2 x 4 sibling, none of the other standing listings mentions metal legs or corners; this one pairs a cedar box with rustproof aluminum at the joints, which tend to be the first place a wooden planter loosens.

Depth is the limit. Ten inches suits greens, herbs, bush beans, peppers and short carrots, but not potatoes or large tomatoes, and the listing does not state a weight limit. If you are comparing more standing models, our best elevated garden beds guide covers the category in more depth.

Pros

  • 16 sq ft at a 29 in working height
  • Aluminum legs and corners resist rust
  • Slatted and vented for drainage
  • Made in the USA

Cons

  • 10 in depth limits large root crops
  • No weight capacity stated in listing
  • Long 8 ft footprint needs deck space

Check Gardener's Supply Elevated Cedar 2x8 price on Amazon

5. Best Choice Products 72x24x30 Elevated Planter — Best for patios and decks

Best for patiosBest Choice Products Elevated Planter

A 30-inch fir planter on six legs with a divider panel, six drainage holes and a stated 300 lb capacity.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • 30-inch height keeps work at waist level
  • Stated 300 lb load rating on six legs
  • Divider panel splits crops with different needs
  • Six drainage holes in the base
Specification Details
Size 72 in x 24 in x 30 in tall
Capacity 8.4 cubic feet of planting space
Material Chinese fir wood
Weight limit 300 lb
Drainage Six holes
Liner Not stated in listing

Best Choice Products SKY6152 — 72 x 24 x 30 in fir, 8.4 cu ft, 300 lb rating, divider, six legs

The only legged bed with a divider panel

Three listings on the shelf include a divider, and this is the only one that stands on legs. A divider lets you keep mint or other spreaders on one side, or rotate halves through the season. Six legs spread the load along the 72 inch length, and the listing states a 300 lb capacity, one of only three elevated listings that give a load figure at all.

Weight ratings matter on a balcony or deck, where you want to know roughly what the planter puts on the boards. Wet soil is heavy, and 8.4 cubic feet of mix can approach the stated limit once it is saturated, so a lighter potting blend makes sense here.

The material is fir, which the USU Extension notes will break down within a few years if untreated, compared with naturally rot-resistant cedar or redwood. The listing calls the wood weather-friendly but does not mention a finish or a liner, so a fabric liner and an outdoor-safe finish on the outside are worth budgeting for. For small-space planting ideas, see our balcony vegetable garden guide.

Pros

  • Stated 300 lb capacity
  • Divider for split plantings
  • Waist-high 30 in working height
  • Six drainage holes

Cons

  • Fir is less rot resistant than cedar
  • No liner mentioned in listing
  • Soil depth not stated in listing

Check Best Choice Products Elevated Planter price on Amazon

6. Tegarbed 4x2x1 Oval Galvanized Beds (2-Pack) — Best for small yards

Best for small yardsTegarbed 4x2x1 Oval (2-Pack)

Two compact 4 x 2 ft oval steel beds, 12 inches deep, with an average 1 mm wall and rolled edges.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • Two compact beds fit lawns and narrow side yards
  • Average 1 mm galvanized steel with corrugated panels
  • Rolled edges for safer handling
  • About 20 minutes to assemble, no extra tools
Specification Details
Size (each) 4 ft x 2 ft x 1 ft tall
Capacity (each) 7+ cubic feet
Material Galvanized steel, average 1 mm
Bottom Open, drains into native soil
Pack Two beds
Warranty Not stated in listing

Tegarbed HKTY-TYHYC-421-2 — two 4 x 2 x 1 ft oval galvanized beds, 1 mm average steel, open base

The highest stated average steel thickness on the shelf

Only three brands among the metal listings state a wall thickness. This Tegarbed kit claims an average of 1 mm, the Rakukiri oval states 0.8 mm, and the Land Guard ovals state an average of 0.78 mm (with a thickest point of 1.56 mm at the seams). The other metal listings describe their walls as thickened or heavy duty without giving a number.

The 4 x 2 ft oval appears in four listings on the shelf, and it suits small yards well: you can reach every plant from one side,. The 12 inch depth handles lettuce, peppers, strawberries and short carrots, and because the base is open, roots can push into the ground below once the soil under the bed is loosened.

What it does not do is give you depth on a hard surface. On a patio, 12 inches is a container rather than a deep bed, so pick a taller model if you cannot place it on soil. The listing also gives no warranty. If this is your first season, our raised bed vegetable garden layout ideas help plan two small beds.

Pros

  • Highest stated average steel thickness
  • Two beds in one pack
  • Quick tool-free setup with rolled edges
  • Open base for drainage

Cons

  • 12 in depth is shallow on hard ground
  • No warranty stated in listing
  • Small capacity for sprawling crops

Check Tegarbed 4x2x1 Oval (2-Pack) price on Amazon

7. Infinite Cedar Premium 3x6x11 — Best long-term wood bed

Best long-term woodInfinite Cedar Premium 3x6

A handmade 3 x 6 ft western red cedar bed with 1-inch boards, tool-free assembly and a five-year warranty.

Check price on Amazon

Why we like it

  • 1-inch boards, the thickest stated wood on the shelf
  • Five-year workmanship and materials warranty
  • No screws, nails or dovetail corners to fail
  • Handmade in Maine with no added chemicals
Specification Details
Size 3 ft x 6 ft x 11 in tall
Material North American western red cedar
Board thickness 1 in
Assembly No tools required
Warranty Five years
Soil capacity Not stated in listing

Infinite Cedar Premium — 3 x 6 ft, 11 in tall, 1 in western red cedar, five-year warranty, made in USA

The longest stated warranty on the shelf

Only two of the 23 listings state a warranty at all. The Rakukiri metal oval offers one year; this Infinite Cedar bed offers five years on workmanship and materials.

The construction backs that up on paper. At 1 inch, the boards are the thickest stated on any wood listing here, ahead of the 3/4 inch Greenes Fence Premium and the 11/16 inch Infinite Cedar Select. Six listings on the shelf say they are made in the USA, and this is one of them.

The catch is height. At 11 inches, this is a shallow bed best placed on soil with an open base so roots can go deeper. The listing does not state soil volume, and a 3 x 6 ft bed will need edging or mulch around it to keep grass from creeping in. Our guide on how to edge a garden bed covers that step.

Pros

  • Longest warranty on the shelf
  • Thickest stated cedar boards
  • Tool-free, fastener-free assembly
  • Made in the USA with no added chemicals

Cons

  • 11 in height is shallow on hard ground
  • Soil volume not stated in listing
  • Smaller footprint than a 4 x 8 ft bed

Check Infinite Cedar Premium 3x6 price on Amazon

How to choose a raised garden bed

The bed you choose depends on where it will sit, what you plan to grow and how much soil you are prepared to buy. The points below cover the specs worth reading on any listing and the practical steps that make a new bed productive.

Material: steel, cedar, fir or legged planters

The 23 listings we compared split almost evenly: 12 metal beds and 11 wood beds, nine of them cedar and two fir.

  • Galvanized or coated steel: resists rot and insects, and the panels are thin enough that a large bed weighs little before it is filled. Look for a stated panel thickness, rolled or rubber-capped edges and cross braces on anything 24 inches tall.
  • Cedar: naturally rot resistant and safe around edibles when left untreated. Read the board thickness, since it ranges from 1/2 inch to 1 inch across this shelf, and thicker boards bow less and last longer.
  • Fir and other untreated softwoods: USU Extension notes that untreated lumber such as fir will rot within a few years. It is fine for a starter bed or a raised planter kept off the ground, but expect to replace it sooner.
  • Pressure-treated wood: older CCA-treated lumber was taken out of homeowner use at the end of 2003, according to the EPA. USU Extension notes that pressure-treated lumber is impregnated with copper-based compounds and suggests a plastic barrier between treated wood and the soil if you use it.

For a closer look at the material choice, see our metal vs wood raised beds comparison.

Height and root depth

USU Extension suggests a framed bed at least 6 to 12 inches high to cover the rooting depth of most vegetables, and recommends that beds shallower than 12 inches be built with no bottom so roots can reach the soil below. As a working guide:

  • 6 to 10 inches: lettuce, spinach, radishes, herbs and most greens. This is also the usual depth in standing planters.
  • 11 to 17 inches: a good all-round depth for peppers, bush beans, onions, carrots and determinate tomatoes, especially over loosened soil.
  • 18 to 24 inches: potatoes, large tomatoes, parsnips and asparagus, or any bed on rock, heavy clay or a hard surface.

Taller walls mean less bending but more soil: an 8 x 4 ft bed at 24 inches holds 64 cubic feet, twice what it holds at 12 inches. USU also recommends drip irrigation or a soaker hose for raised beds, which dry faster in summer.

Width, length and placement

Keep beds about 3 to 4 feet wide if you can reach them from both sides, and about 2 feet wide against a wall or fence. That way you never step into the bed and compact the soil, one of the benefits USU lists for raised beds.

Site the bed where it gets at least 6 to 8 hours of direct sun a day, which USU gives as the target for fruiting crops, and close to a water source. If the bed goes where lawn grew, kill or smother the grass first.

Drainage and bottoms

Open-bottom ground beds drain into native soil, which is why most metal and cedar kits on this shelf are bottomless. Standing planters need a drained floor instead: slats, a false floor or drilled holes, usually with a fabric liner to hold soil in. Before you buy, check what the listing actually says, since several leave drainage details out.

If you suspect the ground is contaminated, which is common near old painted buildings or busy roads, the EPA’s urban gardening fact sheet recommends raised beds filled with clean soil, a layer of landscape fabric between the native ground and the new soil, and non-treated lumber for the frame. In that case the fabric is there to keep roots out of the ground soil, not just to control weeds.

What to fill it with

The soil does more for your harvest than the frame does. USU Extension gives a simple blend of equal parts by volume of composted organic matter, a drainage material such as coarse sand, perlite or pumice, and native soil or topsoil. If you are using existing soil, it suggests mixing in 30 to 50 percent well-composted organic matter. Woody material that is not fully composted ties up nitrogen as it breaks down, so either use finished compost or add nitrogen.

For deep beds, filling the bottom third with logs, branches and coarse organic matter saves soil and feeds the bed as it rots. Expect the soil level to settle, and top up with compost every season. A soil test through your local extension office tells you what to add.

Assembly and when to hire help

Every kit on this list is designed for a homeowner to assemble in an afternoon or less. Small oval steel beds and dovetail cedar kits go together in minutes; larger 8 x 4 ft steel beds take longer because of the number of fasteners. Assemble and fill the bed in its final spot, because a filled bed cannot be moved.

The bigger jobs are site work: leveling a sloped yard, removing turf over a large area, running drip lines from a spigot or building a full set of beds with gravel paths. If you are planning several beds or a terraced vegetable garden, a local landscaper can handle grading, edging and irrigation. You can find one through our landscaping services directory.

Frequently asked questions

How deep should a raised garden bed be?

For most vegetables, 12 inches is a solid depth, and USU Extension suggests at least 6 to 12 inches for most crops. Shallow-rooted greens and herbs do fine in 6 to 10 inches. Potatoes, large tomatoes and other deep-rooted crops do best with 18 to 24 inches, especially when the bed sits on a hard surface and roots cannot grow into the ground.

Are galvanized steel raised beds safe for vegetables?

Galvanized and coated steel beds are widely used for food crops. Some listings go further than others: one brand on this shelf says its materials were independently tested to FHSA standards, and another names its coating and cites a corrosion lab. If safety documentation matters to you, choose a listing that states it in writing.

Do raised garden beds need a bottom?

Ground beds usually do not. An open bottom lets water drain and roots reach the native soil, and USU recommends no bottom for beds under 12 inches deep. Standing planters do need a floor with slats or drainage holes. If the ground may be contaminated, the EPA suggests laying landscape fabric under clean soil.

Can you use pressure-treated wood for a raised bed?

Older CCA-treated lumber was withdrawn from homeowner use at the end of 2003, according to the EPA. USU Extension notes that current pressure-treated lumber uses copper-based compounds and suggests putting a plastic barrier between it and the soil. Untreated cedar or redwood avoids the question, which is why most wooden kits use cedar.

How long do raised garden beds last?

It depends on material. USU Extension notes that untreated fir breaks down within a few years, while cedar and redwood are naturally rot resistant. Among the listings we compared, only one metal bed states a numeric life span (20+ years) and only two listings state a warranty, one year and five years.

References

Written by

The Urban Lotus Project editorial team researches and writes our gardening, lawn, pond and landscaping guides from university extension services, USDA data, product labels and manufacturer specifications, and updates them as advice and products change.

WhatsApp