A bulb planter earns its keep the first autumn you face a bag of 100 tulips and daffodils. The right one cuts a clean plug of soil at a repeatable depth, drops that plug back out without a fight, and lets you move on to the next hole before your wrist or lower back complains. The wrong one clogs in damp clay, bends at the throat, or leaves you guessing at depth so some bulbs sit too shallow and others too deep. This guide compares the bulb planters currently listed on Amazon, from short hand-held transplanters for pots and beds to stand-up, foot-driven models for drifts in lawns and borders, and explains how to match depth markings, hole width and handle length to the bulbs and soil you actually have.
Part of our Houseplants & Container Gardening guide →
In this guide
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How we compared: we compared 16 current Amazon bulb planter listings on what each listing states about handle length, hole diameter, depth markings, soil-release design, materials and warranty, then checked planting-depth guidance against university extension sources. We did not test or handle the products, and nothing here describes hands-on use. Availability and listing details change, so confirm the current listing before you buy.
| Product | Best for | Key features | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Colwelt 37in Long Handle | Best overall stand-up planter |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Fiskars Bulb Transplanter | Best hand-held planter |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Haliaeetus 37in Stainless | Best stainless stand-up planter |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| DEROFIT Side-Eject Plugger | Best for large plantings |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Haliaeetus 6in Hand Planter | Best depth scale on a hand tool |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| gardmate One-Touch Planter | Best for weaker hands |
| Buy now →Check current price |
| Garden Weasel Long Handle | Best for cutting through sod |
| Buy now →Check current price |
Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The best bulb planters for tulips, daffodils and more
1. Colwelt Long Handle Bulb Planter (37 in) — Best overall stand-up planter

37-inch stand-up planter with a serrated base, two foot pedals and a stated 3.5-inch hole up to about 4.7 inches deep.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- States both hole width and maximum depth.
- Works from a standing position, no kneeling.
- Second raised pedal pushes the soil core out.
- Serrated base for stony ground.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Long-handled, foot-driven stand-up planter |
| Length | 37 inches |
| Hole size | 3.5 in diameter, maximum depth about 4.7 in |
| Material | Powder-coated steel |
| Soil release | Step on a raised pedal to drop the core |
| Depth markings | Not stated in listing |
Colwelt long-handle bulb planter (C056) — 37 in, powder-coated steel, 3.5 in holes to ~4.7 in, dual pedals, serrated base.
The only stand-up listing that states both hole width and depth
Eight of the 16 bulb planter listings we compared are long-handled, stand-up tools. Most describe the step, twist and pull routine in similar words, but the Colwelt is the only one that tells you both the width of the hole (3.5 inches) and how deep the tube will cut (a maximum of roughly 4.7 inches). The Garden Weasel gives a hole width but no depth, and the DEROFIT gives depths but no width. Knowing both numbers lets you check the tool against your bulbs before it arrives: a 3.5-inch hole swallows most tulip and daffodil bulbs, and a depth near 5 inches suits crocus, grape hyacinth and smaller tulips in one plunge.
That stated depth is also the main limit. Illinois and Wisconsin extension guidance puts large bulbs such as tulips and daffodils at 6 to 8 inches deep, measured from the base of the bulb. With a maximum of about 4.7 inches, you would need a second plunge in the same hole, or a trowel to finish, for the biggest daffodils. The listing also does not mention depth markings on the tube, so consistency depends on how far you drive it each time.
The two-pedal arrangement is shared with the BARAYSTUS and Omesata listings: one pedal drives the tube down, and the raised pedal pushes the core back out.
Pros
- Clear hole diameter and depth figures
- Stand-up use saves knees and back
- Dedicated pedal for ejecting the soil core
- Serrated edge for stony soil
Cons
- Maximum depth is short of 6 to 8 in for large bulbs
- No depth markings mentioned
- Needs assembly, per the listing
Check Colwelt 37in Long Handle price on Amazon
2. Fiskars Bulb Transplanter — Best hand-held planter

Compact hand bulb planter with a spring-loaded handle that releases the soil, depth gradations and a lifetime warranty.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Squeeze-release handle drops the soil plug.
- Depth gradations printed on the barrel.
- Lifetime warranty stated in the listing.
- Small 2.25 in opening for compact bulbs.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Hand-held transplanter |
| Opening | 2.25 in diameter |
| Soil release | Spring-loaded handle |
| Depth markings | Gradation marks on the barrel |
| Warranty | Lifetime |
| Material | Not stated in listing |
Fiskars Bulb Transplanter (79836935) — hand tool, 2.25 in opening, spring-loaded release, depth gradations, lifetime warranty.
The only hand planter combining release, depth marks and a lifetime warranty
Eight listings on the shelf are short hand tools for kneeling work in beds, raised beds and containers. Several share one or two of the Fiskars’ features: the Edward Tools planter has an automatic release and a depth marker but names no warranty, and the Haliaeetus 6-inch planter has depth marks and a lifetime warranty but no release mechanism. The Fiskars is the only hand-held listing that states all three. For planting a few dozen bulbs in a prepared bed, that combination covers the jobs that matter: consistent depth, quick emptying, and support if the tool fails.
The 2.25-inch opening is the smallest stated hole on the shelf, compared with 3.5 inches on the Colwelt and 3.75 inches on the Garden Weasel. That is a good match for crocus, snowdrops, grape hyacinth and small tulips, but large daffodil bulbs may need the hole widened with a trowel. The listing does not name the barrel material or the maximum depth of the gradations, so check those details on the product page.
Pros
- Spring-loaded release empties the plug
- Depth gradations for consistent planting
- Lifetime warranty stated
- Light enough for container work
Cons
- Narrow 2.25 in opening for large bulbs
- Material and maximum depth not stated
- Kneeling tool, hard on knees for big jobs
- Stock listed as limited
Check Fiskars Bulb Transplanter price on Amazon
3. Haliaeetus Long Handle Stainless Bulb Planter (37 in) — Best stainless stand-up planter

37-inch stainless steel stand-up planter with a 1 to 4 inch depth scale, wood T-handle and a lifetime warranty.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Stainless tube with a printed depth scale.
- Only stand-up listing with a lifetime warranty.
- Wood T-handle for a two-handed twist.
- Cylinder measures 6 in from edge to top.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Long-handled stand-up planter |
| Length | 37 inches |
| Material | Thick stainless steel tube, wood T-handle |
| Depth markings | 1 to 4 in scale; cylinder 6 in tall |
| Warranty | Lifetime |
| Soil release | Not stated in listing |
Haliaeetus 37 in long-handle bulb planter — stainless steel, wood T-handle, 1 to 4 in depth scale, 6 in cylinder, lifetime warranty.
The only long-handled listing with a lifetime warranty
Among the eight stand-up planters we compared, warranty terms are rare. The DEROFIT names a 12-month warranty and the EUIJOIP mentions a long return window, but the Haliaeetus 37-inch is the only long-handled tool that lists a lifetime warranty. It is also one of the few stand-up listings to describe a depth scale on the tube itself, running from 1 to 4 inches, with a stated 6 inches from the cutting edge to the top of the cylinder.
Stainless steel is the other selling point. Most of the stand-up rivals use carbon steel or iron with a powder coat or anti-rust finish, which can chip and rust at the cutting edge after a few seasons in wet soil. Stainless resists that, though the listing still recommends moist rather than dry ground, and suggests watering hard soil and letting it soak first.
What the listing leaves out is a foot pedal and any soil-release mechanism. The Colwelt, Omesata and BARAYSTUS tools all describe pedals that let body weight do the driving, and the Colwelt and DEROFIT describe ways to push the core out. Here you rely on the T-handle twist and your arms, so in firm clay it may take more effort per hole.
Pros
- Stainless steel resists rust
- Printed 1 to 4 in depth scale
- Lifetime warranty listed
- Stand-up use with a two-hand T-grip
Cons
- No foot pedal described
- No soil-release mechanism mentioned
- Depth scale stops at 4 in
Check Haliaeetus 37in Stainless price on Amazon
4. DEROFIT Side-Eject Bulb Planter and Sod Plugger — Best for large plantings

33.5-inch stand-up plugger whose slanted tube pushes each soil plug out of the side, with 2, 4 or 6 inch hole depths.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Soil plug slides out the side automatically.
- No need to flip the tool to empty it.
- Digs 2, 4 or 6 inch deep holes.
- Foam-padded handle and 12-month warranty.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Long-handled stand-up planter and sod plugger |
| Height | 33.5 in working height (36.5 in overall) |
| Hole depth | 2, 4 or 6 inches |
| Material | Powder-coated steel, foam-padded handle |
| Soil release | Closed, slanted tube ejects plugs from the side |
| Warranty | 12 months |
DEROFIT bulb planter sod plugger — 33.5 in, powder-coated steel, side-ejecting plug, 2/4/6 in depths, about 4.8 lb, 12-month warranty.
The only planter on the shelf that ejects plugs out of the side
Every other planter we compared either holds the soil core until you release it with a pedal, a spring or a button, or expects you to shake it out. The DEROFIT listing describes a closed, slanted tube that pushes each plug out of the side as you dig the next hole, so soil does not pile up inside. On a big planting day that changes the rhythm: dig, step forward, dig again, with a row of plugs left beside the holes ready to backfill.
It is also the only stand-up listing that names three hole depths (2, 4 and 6 inches). The 6-inch option reaches the shallow end of the 6 to 8 inch range extension sources give for tulips and daffodils, which the Colwelt’s stated 4.7-inch maximum does not. The listing does not give the hole diameter, so measure your largest bulbs against the tube once it arrives.
At about 4.8 pounds it is one of the heavier tools on the shelf, and the 33.5-inch working height is shorter than the 37 and 40 inch handles on the Colwelt, Haliaeetus and BARAYSTUS. Taller gardeners may prefer one of those to avoid stooping. The listing recommends moistening the soil before digging.
Pros
- Side ejection keeps the tube clear
- Three stated hole depths, up to 6 in
- Padded handle for long sessions
- Warranty term stated
Cons
- Hole diameter not stated
- Shorter handle than several rivals
- Heavier than hand tools
Check DEROFIT Side-Eject Plugger price on Amazon
5. Haliaeetus 6 Inch Depth Mark Hand Bulb Planter — Best depth scale on a hand tool

Hand-held stainless steel bulb planter with a 1 to 6 inch depth scale, wooden grip and a lifetime warranty.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Depth scale runs the full 1 to 6 inches.
- Thicker stainless steel body resists bending.
- Sharp bottom edge for heavier soil.
- Lifetime warranty listed.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Hand-held planter |
| Depth markings | 1 to 6 inches, imperial scale |
| Material | Stainless steel, wooden handle |
| Soil release | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | Lifetime |
| Opening diameter | Not stated in listing |
Haliaeetus 6 in depth-mark bulb planter — hand tool, stainless steel, wooden grip, 1 to 6 in scale, lifetime warranty.
A full 6-inch scale plus a lifetime warranty
Seven listings on the shelf mention depth markings of some kind, but most do not say how far they run. This Haliaeetus is one of only two hand tools that state a 6-inch scale (the other is the Berry&Bird depth-mark planter, which carries a 2-year warranty), and it is the one that pairs that scale with a lifetime warranty. A scale that reaches 6 inches covers the lower end of the tulip and daffodil range and every smaller bulb, so you can read depth straight off the tool instead of reaching for a ruler.
The listing claims the tool is much faster than a hand trowel, with a figure of 150 bulbs an hour. Treat that as a marketing estimate rather than a measured result; your pace will depend on soil, bulb size and how often you stop to backfill. What the listing does not describe is any release mechanism, so in sticky soil you may need to tap or push the plug out by hand, which is the trade-off against the Fiskars and Edward Tools designs.
Because it is a kneeling tool, it suits raised beds, containers and border edges better than large lawn plantings.
Pros
- Clearly stated 1 to 6 in scale
- Stainless steel body
- Lifetime warranty stated
- Good for beds and pots
Cons
- No soil-release mechanism mentioned
- Opening width not stated
- Speed claim is marketing, not a measurement
Check Haliaeetus 6in Hand Planter price on Amazon
6. gardmate One-Touch Automatic Bulb Planter — Best for weaker hands

Stainless hand planter with a push-button piston release, fixed 5-inch depth, rubber grip, plus gloves and a brush.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Push-button piston pushes the soil out.
- Fixed 5 in depth removes guesswork.
- Rubber grip pitched at reduced hand strength.
- Gloves and a cleaning brush included.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Hand-held planter with piston release |
| Planting depth | Fixed 5 in (12.7 cm) |
| Material | Stainless steel, high-density rubber handle |
| Soil release | Single push button |
| Extras | Gloves and brush |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
gardmate One-Touch bulb planter — stainless steel, push-button piston, fixed 5 in depth, rubber grip, about 1 lb, gloves and brush.
The only push-button soil release on the shelf
Several hand planters release soil automatically. The Fiskars uses a spring-loaded handle you squeeze, and the Edward Tools, Toresano and joyhalo listings describe their own release designs. The gardmate is the only listing that describes a piston driven by a single push button. For gardeners with arthritis or a weak grip, pressing a button may be easier than squeezing a sprung handle on every hole, and the listing pitches the rubber grip at exactly that group.
The fixed 5-inch depth cuts both ways. It removes guesswork and suits crocus, grape hyacinth, small tulips and transplanted seedlings, but it cannot be adjusted for large daffodils that extension sources say belong 6 to 8 inches down, or for very small bulbs that want only 3 to 4 inches. If you plant a wide mix of bulb sizes, a planter with a printed scale gives more control.
The listing names no warranty term and gives no opening diameter. It does describe use in pots and raised planters as well as beds, and at about a pound it is among the lighter metal tools on the shelf.
Pros
- Button release needs little grip strength
- Consistent 5 in depth every time
- Stainless steel construction
- Comes with gloves and a brush
Cons
- Depth cannot be adjusted
- No warranty term stated
- Opening diameter not stated
Check gardmate One-Touch Planter price on Amazon
7. Garden Weasel Long Handle Bulb Planter — Best for cutting through sod

Stand-up carbon steel planter with a 6-inch pointed tip that cuts 3.75-inch holes; each press ejects the previous plug.
Check price on AmazonWhy we like it
- Widest stated hole on the shelf, 3.75 in.
- 6 in pointed steel tip cuts sod.
- Each new hole pushes out the last plug.
- Ships in pieces for compact delivery.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Type | Long-handled stand-up planter |
| Hole size | 3.75 in diameter |
| Tip | 6 in pointed steel |
| Material | Rust-resistant carbon steel frame, T-handle |
| Soil release | Next press ejects the previous plug |
| Assembled length | Not stated in listing |
Garden Weasel bulb planter (91350-3) — stand-up, carbon steel, 3.75 in holes, 6 in pointed tip, continuous plug ejection, T-handle.
The widest stated planting hole of any listing we compared
Only three listings on the shelf give a hole diameter at all: the Fiskars (2.25 inches), the Colwelt (3.5 inches) and this Garden Weasel (3.75 inches). The extra width matters for large daffodil and allium bulbs and for small bedding plants, which can be awkward to seat in a narrow tube hole. The listing pitches the 6-inch pointed tip at sod and compacted soil, which is where naturalizing bulbs in a lawn usually starts.
Its soil-handling approach is similar to the DEROFIT’s continuous flow: each press pushes out the plug from the previous hole, so you work along a row without stopping to empty the tool. Unlike the DEROFIT, the listing does not name specific hole depths, though a 6-inch tip suggests holes in the range most spring bulbs need.
The listing gives a packed length rather than an assembled handle length, and names no warranty term, so check the product page if height or coverage matters to you.
Pros
- Widest stated hole on the shelf
- Pointed tip suited to lawns and sod
- Continuous plug ejection
- Rust-resistant carbon steel
Cons
- Assembled length not stated
- No depth figures or markings listed
- No warranty term stated
Check Garden Weasel Long Handle price on Amazon
How to choose a bulb planter
Two questions settle most of the decision: how many bulbs you plant each year, and what kind of soil they go into. A few dozen bulbs in loose, amended beds or containers need nothing more than a hand-held planter. A hundred or more, or bulbs naturalized into a lawn, justify a long-handled tool you drive with your foot. Very large plantings in heavy ground are where a drill-mounted auger makes sense; see our guide to garden augers if that describes your project.
Hand-held versus stand-up
Hand-held planters are short tubes with a grip on top. You kneel, push the tube into the soil, twist, and lift out a plug. They are light, precise and easy to use in pots, raised beds and tight spaces between perennials. The downside is posture: planting 150 bulbs on your knees is hard work. Stand-up planters put the same tube at the end of a 33 to 40 inch shaft with a foot pedal, so your body weight drives the tube and you never bend. They need more space to swing and are heavier, at around 3.5 to 5 pounds on the listings we compared, compared with 1 pound or less for most hand tools.
Depth markings and the planting-depth rule
Extension guidance is consistent here. Illinois Extension says bulbs should go two to three times as deep as they are wide, which puts tulips and daffodils at 6 to 8 inches and crocus at 3 to 4 inches. Wisconsin’s horticulture program gives the same ranges and adds a detail that changes how you read a depth scale: measure depth from the bottom of the bulb, not the top. So a 6-inch mark on the tube means the base of the bulb sits 6 inches down.
That is why a printed scale is worth having. Too shallow and bulbs are exposed to freeze-thaw swings and digging animals; too deep and they spend energy reaching the surface. If your tool has no scale, wrap a band of tape around the tube at the depth you need. For timing, see when to plant tulip bulbs and when to plant daffodil bulbs, and our explainer on fall versus spring bulbs if you are unsure which season your bulbs belong to.
Hole width
Few listings state the opening diameter, but it decides which bulbs fit. A 2.25-inch opening suits small bulbs and corms. Holes of 3.5 to 3.75 inches take large tulips, daffodils and alliums, and are wide enough to scatter several small bulbs in one hole for a natural cluster. If a listing does not give a width, measure your largest bulb and check the tube on arrival.
Soil release
The single most common frustration with tube planters is a soil core that will not come out. Designs on the shelf tackle this in different ways: spring-loaded handles, push-button pistons, raised pedals that eject the core, and continuous designs where each new hole pushes out the last plug. Any of these beat shaking or poking the tube clean, especially in moist soil where plugs compact.
Materials and build
Stainless steel resists rust without a coating. Carbon steel and iron are strong but depend on powder coat or plating, which wears at the cutting edge; once bare metal shows, wipe the tool dry after use and oil it before winter storage. Serrated or pointed bottom edges help in stony soil and sod. Look at the joint where the tube meets the shaft on stand-up tools, since that is the stress point when you lever against roots or rocks.
Soil preparation and drainage
Every planter on the shelf works better in moist, crumbly soil, and several listings say so directly. Water hard ground a day ahead so it is damp but not sticky. Drainage matters more than the tool: Illinois Extension notes that bulbs sitting in soils that stay wet for long periods may rot, and recommends working in compost to improve drainage. If water pools in your beds, read why your soil is not draining before planting anything.
Protecting new plantings
Freshly planted bulbs attract squirrels and chipmunks, especially tulips and crocus. Both extension sources suggest laying chicken wire or hardware cloth over the planted area and removing it in spring, and Wisconsin notes that daffodils and hyacinths are less appealing to these animals. Water bulbs in after planting if the soil is dry. Leftover bulbs that cannot go in this season can be held over; see how to store flower bulbs.
Digging safely and when to call a pro
Bulb holes are shallow, but stand-up planters and augers can still reach buried cables and irrigation lines near the surface. Illinois Extension advises contacting 811 before any digging project, and notes that utility lines can sit just a few inches below the surface. For a large redesign, such as replacing lawn with a bulb meadow or regrading beds that hold water, a landscaping crew can handle soil prep and drainage while you take care of the planting. Our landscaping services directory can help you find one. For more tool guides, browse the tools and gear hub.
Frequently asked questions
How deep should bulbs go when using a bulb planter?
University extension guidance says to plant bulbs two to three times as deep as the bulb is tall or wide, measured from the base of the bulb. That works out to about 6 to 8 inches for tulips and daffodils and 3 to 4 inches for small bulbs such as crocus. Use the planter’s depth marks, or a band of tape on the tube, to keep every hole consistent.
Are bulb planters worth it, or can a trowel do the job?
For a handful of bulbs, a trowel works fine. Once you plant dozens, a tube planter cuts holes of the same depth and width far faster, and a stand-up model removes the kneeling and bending. For very large plantings in heavy ground, a drill-mounted auger is another option.
Do bulb planters work in clay soil?
They can, but clay is where plugs compact and stick. Plant when the soil is moist rather than wet or bone dry, choose a model with a release mechanism, and consider a serrated or pointed edge. Working compost into heavy beds ahead of time improves both digging and drainage, which also helps bulbs avoid rot.
Which is better, a hand-held or a long-handled bulb planter?
Choose hand-held for containers, raised beds and small groups of bulbs between perennials. Choose long-handled if you are planting a hundred or more bulbs, naturalizing into a lawn, or have back or knee problems. Long-handled tools are heavier and need more room, but your foot does most of the work.
How do you keep a metal bulb planter from rusting?
Knock off soil and wipe the tool dry after each use, and store it indoors over winter. Carbon steel and coated tools benefit from a light coat of oil before storage, especially once the coating has worn at the cutting edge. Stainless steel resists rust better but still lasts longer if kept dry.